Hamburg brings top-class medical congress to the city

In 2021, the eyes of the international community of neurosurgeons will be on Hamburg as the European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS) will be holding its annual congress here. Around 2,000 specialists are expected to join the event, which will take place at the CCH – Congress Center Hamburg and once again confirm Hamburg’s relevance as a science location.

In the bid to host the 2021 EANS conference, Hamburg prevailed over strong competition such as Jerusalem, Rotterdam, and Krakow. Following a pitch in Brussels, the contract was subsequently awarded to the Hanseatic city of Hamburg. The winning bid is the result of a focused acquisition strategy as well as excellent collaboration among local stakeholders.

Nele Aumann, head of the Conventions unit at the Hamburg Convention Bureau (HCB), comments: “We are systematically building on Hamburg’s cluster industries. This is where the city’s strengths are to be found, and these strengths are also highlighted in the context of bidding procedures. With the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE), we can rely on a strong, committed player with whom we can collaborate closely and who is able to provide relevant expertise in the subject domain. In addition to our city’s favourable infrastructural features and the long track record of the CCH – Congress Center Hamburg in the field of medicine, we can offer a powerful package that has put us in an excellent position, especially in the area of medicine and science.”

Hamburg’s bidding history may illustrate that competition is stiff for high-profile congresses such as the EANS: in fact, Hamburg already took part in an earlier bid to host this event. In 2017, representatives of the HCB and the UKE travelled to Venice to present their concept, which was not successful at the time.

Prof. Dr Manfred Westphal, EANS Member and EANS2021 Congress President, from the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) says: “It is a great success that we have been able to win the bid for the EANS congress with this second attempt. For the UKE, this congress is an opportunity to demonstrate the strong and extensive expertise we have here at the UKE. Our close collaboration with the Hamburg Convention Bureau has now contributed to the fact that this top-class congress is coming to Hamburg.”

Bernd Aufderheide, chair of the management board of Hamburg Messe und Congress GmbH, which is the company operating the CCH, adds: “In the competition for major international conferences, it is increasingly a location’s mix of available offerings that is making the difference.” With the highly attractive new CCH – Congress Center Hamburg and its long tradition and vast experience, Hamburg will play an even more important role in the field of medical congresses in the future.”

Some 2,000 international experts from the medical field of neurosurgery are expected to attend the 2021 congress, which is scheduled to take place at the CCH – Congress Center Hamburg.

The Hamburg Convention Bureau (HCB) 

As a direct subsidiary of Hamburg Marketing GmbH, the Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB) combines locational expertise with a broad spectrum of industry-specific knowledge, ranging from B2B meetings, conferences and conventions to large-scale public events. HCB is in charge of marketing Hamburg globally as a congress and conventions location and strengthening Hamburg’s profile internationally via highly visible public events.

Michel Molenda
Head of Corporate Communications & PR
Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH
Wexstrasse 7
D-20355 Hamburg

T: +49 40 – 300 51 653
M: +49 173 – 900 6586
F: +49 40 – 300 51 618
E-mail: michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
URL: www.hamburg-convention.com

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Head of Corporate Communications

michel.molenda@hamburg-tourismus.de
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Pressemitteilung

Information about the Media Server Hamburg Marketing GmbH

Hamburg holt hochkarätigen Medizinkongress in die Stadt

2021 steht Hamburg im Fokus der internationalen Neurochirurgie. Die European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS) macht mit ihrem jährlichen Kongress in der Hansestadt halt. Rund 2.000 Spezialisten werden im CCH – Congress Center Hamburg erwartet und unterstreichen damit die Relevanz Hamburgs als Wissenschaftsstandort.

Hamburg setzte sich bei der Bewerbung um die Ausrichtung des EANS 2021 gegen starke Mitbewerberstädte durch. Sowohl Jerusalem, Rotterdam als auch Krakau wollten den Kongress für sich gewinnen. Nach einem Pitch in Brüssel erfolgte der Zuschlag zugunsten der Hansestadt. Die Ausrichtung des Kongresses in Hamburg ist das Ergebnis einer fokussierten Akquisestrategie und der starken Zusammenarbeit am Standort.

Nele Aumann, Bereichsleiterin Conventions der Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH, führt aus: „Wir arbeiten sehr konsequent auf den Hamburger Clusterbranchen. Hier hat die Stadt Stärken, die auch in der Bewerbungsphase wahrgenommen werden. Mit dem Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf haben wir zudem einen starken und engagierten Player, mit dem wir eng zusammenarbeiten und inhaltliche Expertise bereitstellen können. Zusätzlich zu den infrastrukturellen Gegebenheiten unserer Stadt und der langen Tradition des CCH – Congress Center Hamburg im Bereich Medizin ist das ein Gesamtpaket, das uns gerade im medizinisch-wissenschaftlichen Bereich in eine sehr gute Position bringt.“

Wie stark der weltweite Wettbewerb um solch hochkarätige Kongresse ist, zeigt die Historie. Bereits im vergangenen Jahr bewarb sich Hamburg um den EANS. Das HCB und Vertreter des UKE reisten nach Venedig, um das Konzept vorzustellen, mussten sich jedoch anderen Bewerberstädten geschlagen geben.

Prof. Dr. Manfred Westphal, EANS-Mitglied und EANS2021 Congress President, vom Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE): „Dass wir nun im zweiten Anlauf den EANS Kongress für uns gewinnen konnten, ist ein großer Erfolg. Für das UKE ist dieser Kongress eine Möglichkeit, die hohe und breitgefächerte Expertise der Einrichtung zu zeigen. Die gute Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hamburg Convention Bureau hat dazu geführt, dass dieser hochkarätige Kongress nach Hamburg kommt.“

„Im Wettbewerb um international bedeutende Kongresse ist es zunehmend die Summe der Angebote eines Standortes, die den Unterschied macht“, ergänzt Bernd Aufderheide, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Hamburg Messe und Congress GmbH, die das CCH betreibt. „Mit dem hochattraktiven neuen CCH – Congress Center Hamburg und der langen Tradition und Erfahrung wird Hamburg in Zukunft eine noch wichtigere Rolle im Bereich der medizinischen Kongresse spielen.“

Zu dem Kongress 2021 werden rund 2.000 internationale Experten aus dem medizinischen Feld der Neurochirurgie erwartet. Die Veranstaltung findet 2021 im CCH – Congress Center Hamburg statt.

Das Hamburg Convention Bureau

Als direkte Tochter der Hamburg Marketing GmbH vereinigt die Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB) Standortkompetenz mit einem breiten Spektrum an Expertise von B2B-Veranstaltungen, wie Kongresse und Tagungen, bis hin zu Großveranstaltungen im öffentlichen Raum. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehört sowohl die weltweite Vermarktung des Kongress- und Tagungsstandorts Hamburg als auch die internationale Stärkung des Profils der Elbmetropole über bildstarke Publikums-Events.

Michel Molenda

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation & PR
Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH
Wexstraße 7
20355 Hamburg

Tel: +49 (0) 40 – 300 51 653
Mobil: +49 (0) 173 – 900 6586
Fax: +49 (0) 40 – 300 51 618
Mail: michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
URL: www.hamburg-convention.com

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation & PR

michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Pressemitteilung

Informationen zum Mediaserver der Hamburg Marketing GmbH