Frank Pflugfelder

Frank Pflugfelder

Marketing Manager Conventions – Cluster
Focus: Logistics, Maritime Industries and Aviation

frank.pflugfelder@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-655

      

Logistik-Initiative Hamburg

Being a port city, Hamburg is a leading hub for logistics services in Northern Europe: the city’s international shipping companies, forwarding agents, warehousing companies, handling and transport companies, importers and exporters as well as leading mail order companies provide a closely knit network with great economic potential. Goods from oversea are reloaded, stored and processed in Hamburg, or are forwarded to their final destination by rail, road, barge or ship. In terms of exports, Germany is the number one in Europe, and the port of Hamburg is the most important interface for foreign trade. The regional logistics industry is therefore a major job engine. In the Hamburg Metropolitan Region, more than 230,000 individuals are employed in the logistics industry; from among these, 154,000 work in the City of Hamburg.

As freight flows are increasing rapidly and container ships are getting larger and larger, all stakeholders along the transport chain are faced with new challenges. The Logistik-Initiative Hamburg network has set itself the task of identifying these challenges and of shaping the future in a sustainable manner in collaboration with companies and research partners from the network. This involves systematic networking between industry, science and research as well as extensive innovation transfer. With more than 500 member companies and institutions from industry, trade, service, research and development and numerous public institutions, Logistik-Initiative Hamburg is the largest regional logistics network in Europe.

Seventeen public and private universities offer diverse degree programmes in the field of logistics in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region, among them prestigious institutions such as the Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH), the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW Hamburg) and the Kühne Logistics University (KLU).

Other economic clusters

Photo: www.mediaserver.hamburg.de / imagefoto.de

Frank Pflugfelder

Frank Pflugfelder

Marketing Manager Conventions
Fokus: Logistik, Maritime Wirtschaft & Luftfahrt

frank.pflugfelder@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-655

      

Logistik-Initiative Hamburg

Als Hafenmetropole ist Hamburg Knotenpunkt und führende Drehscheibe für logistische Dienstleistungen in Nordeuropa: Internationale Reedereien, Spediteure, Lagerhalter, Umschlag- und Transportunternehmen, Im- und Exporteure sowie führende Versandhandelshäuser bilden am Standort traditionell ein dichtes Netz mit großem wirtschaftlichen Potenzial. Waren aus Übersee werden in Hamburg umgeladen, gelagert, veredelt oder reisen direkt per Bahn, Lkw, Binnen- oder Zubringerschiff zu ihren Bestimmungsorten. Umgekehrt ist Deutschland Exportnation Nr 1. in Europa, und der Hamburger Hafen die wichtigste Schnittstelle im Außenhandel. Die Logistikwirtschaft ist am Standort daher auch ein bedeutender Job-Motor. Mehr als 230.000 Beschäftigte arbeiten in der Metropolregion in der Branche, davon allein 154.000 in Hamburg.

Die schnell wachsenden Güterströme und die immer größer werdende Schiffe stellen alle Beteiligten entlang der Transportkette vor neue Herausforderungen. Die Logistik-Initiative Hamburg hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, diese zu identifizieren und im Verbund mit Unternehmen und Wissenschaftspartnern zukunftsfähig und nachhaltig zu gestalten. Dabei geht es um die Vernetzung von Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie einen umfangreichen Innovationstransfer. Mit mehr als 500 Mitgliedsunternehmen und -institutionen aus Industrie, Handel, Dienstleistung, Forschung & Entwicklung und zahlreichen öffentlichen Institutionen ist die Logistik-Initiative Hamburg das größte europäische Standort-Netzwerk ihrer Branche.

Allein 17 staatliche und private Hochschulen bieten in der Metropolregion Hamburg im Bereich Logistik eine vielfältige akademische Ausbildung, darunter so renommierte Einrichtungen wie die Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH), die Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg (HAW Hamburg) und die Kühne Logistics University (KLU).

Weitere Wirtschaftscluster

Foto: www.mediaserver.hamburg.de / imagefoto.de