Karine Serra

Karine Serra

Marketing Manager Conventions
Focus: Medical, Healthcare & Life Science

karine.serra@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-617

Healthcare

One out of seven employees working in Hamburg is active in the healthcare sector. Besides Berlin and Bremen, Hamburg has the highest density of medical doctors in Germany and enjoys an excellent international reputation as a healthcare location. Today, Hamburg is home to 169,000 healthcare professionals – an increase of 33,000 compared with 2006. As many as 12,500 practitioners, dentists and psychotherapists are working in Hamburg. 79 hospitals in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region are providing 12,000 beds and secure 3,000 apprenticeship positions. Over the past decade, the gross value added by Hamburg’s healthcare sector has increased steadily by an average of more than 4 percent annually and now amounts to more than 9.6 billion euro.

Hamburg’s healthcare cluster is managed by Gesundheitswirtschaft Hamburg GmbH (GWHH), a subsidiary of the City of Hamburg and the Hamburg Chamber of Commerce. In cooperation with the Gesundheitswirtschaft Hamburg association, GWHH promotes the development and expansion of sustainable collaborative structures within the healthcare sector. Furthermore, GWHH bundles the expertise of stakeholders from the healthcare sector, such as companies, universities, research and training institutions, hospitals, care providers, physicians, insurance funds and insurance companies, as well as professional chambers, associations and interest groups.

The cluster initiative aims to strengthen Hamburg as a healthcare location to ensure good medical care, meet the requirements for qualified staff and to leverage the opportunities created by digitisation. To these ends, the cluster initiates cross-sectoral and cross-industry activities and projects that are intended to increase the potential for growth, employment, system innovations and quality of care.

Cluster projects focus on various health-related topics such as e-health, health and ageing, education and innovation as well as corporate health management.

Other economic clusters

Photo: clipdealer.de

Karine Serra

Karine Serra

Marketing Managerin Conventions
Fokus: Medizin, Gesundheitswirtschaft & Life Science

karine.serra@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-617

Gesundheitswirtschaft

Jeder siebte Beschäftigte arbeitet in Hamburg in der Gesundheitswirtschaft. Neben Berlin und Bremen hat die Hansestadt die höchste Arztdichte in Deutschland und genießt auch international einen hervorragenden Ruf als Gesundheitsstandort. Die Branche vereint in Hamburg heute 169.000 Erwerbstätige, das sind 33.000 mehr als noch 2006. Allein 12.500 Ärztinnen und Ärzte, Zahnärztinnen und Zahnärzte, Psychotherapeutinnen und -therapeuten arbeiten hier. Die 79 Kliniken in der Metropolregion verfügen über 12.000 Betten und sichern 3.000 Ausbildungsplätze. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren ist die Bruttowertschöpfung der Gesundheitswirtschaft in Hamburg mit durchschnittlich mehr als vier Prozent im Jahr auf mehr als 9,6 Milliarden Euro kontinuierlich gestiegen.

Das Clustermanagement erfolgt durch die Gesundheitswirtschaft Hamburg GmbH (GWHH), einer Tochter der Stadt Hamburg und der Handelskammer Hamburg. Gemeinsam mit dem Verein Gesundheitswirtschaft Hamburg e.V. fördert sie die Hamburger Gesundheitswirtschaft und unterstützt den Auf- und Ausbau nachhaltiger Kooperationsstrukturen. Die GWHH vernetzt die Kompetenzen von Anbietern und Akteuren rund um das Thema Gesundheit: Unternehmen, Hochschulen, Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen, Krankenhäuser, Pflegeeinrichtungen und Ärzte, Krankenkassen und -versicherungen sowie Kammern, Vereine und Interessenverbände.

Aufgabe der Clustergesellschaft ist es, die Attraktivität des Gesundheitsstandortes Hamburg zu stärken, um die gute Versorgung weiterhin sicherzustellen und um den Fachkräftebedarf zu decken, sowie die Chancen der Digitalisierung für die Gesundheitsversorgung zu nutzen. Dazu werden sektoren- und branchenübergreifende Aktivitäten und Projekte initiiert. Diese sollen die Potenziale für Wachstum, Beschäftigung, Systeminnovationen und Qualität der Versorgung fördern.

Verschiedene Projekte des Clusters konzentrieren sich auf die Themenkomplexe eHealth, Gesundheit und Altern, Bildung und Innovation sowie Betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement.

Weitere Wirtschaftscluster

Foto: clipdealer.de