Caroline Molitoris

Caroline Molitoris

Marketing Manager Conventions
Focus: Media & IT, Creative Industries, Renewable Energies & Smart City

caroline.molitoris@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-615

   

Renewable Energy Hamburg

Hamburg’s renewable energy sector is fairly young and continues to grow at an above-average rate. Situated between the North Sea and the Baltic Sea and characterised by excellent wind conditions, the Hamburg Metropolitan Region is an ideal location for onshore and offshore wind turbines. Large international manufacturers such as Areva Wind, Gamesa, General Electric, Nordex, REpower Systems, Siemens and Vestas are located here. While the City of Hamburg has established itself primarily as a location for head offices and research departments, the North and Baltic Sea coasts have become home to various production sites, e.g. Cuxhaven, Stade and Brunsbüttel. The WindEnergy trade fair, which annually rotates between Hamburg and Husum, serves as an important platform for all stakeholders from the sector.

The renewables sector, which includes the industries of wind, solar and biomass, comprises almost 1,500 companies with approximately 25,000 employees in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region. Of these,14,500 are employed in the City of Hamburg. The region is characterised in particular by a high level of expertise in the areas of management, project development, engineering services, sales and marketing, as well as a wide range of services such as finance, insurance and certification.

Only one year after the launch of the Cluster Initiative Energy Hamburg GmbH (EEHH) in 2011 as many as 150 companies had joined the network. The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the Association for the Promotion of the Renewable Energy Hamburg Cluster are partners of the initiative. As well as bundling the diverse skills of enterprises and research institutions, the initiative promotes collaboration and exchange with other industries, e.g. in the field of new materials, the maritime industries and aviation.

Quality of life, environmental protection and economic development directly benefit from the expansion of renewable energies. Cluster activities are aimed at securing this positive outlook in the long term especially in export markets and at developing the Hamburg Metropolitan Region as a leading location for renewables. As part of these efforts, networking, training, national and international location marketing as well as systematic support for innovations play a key role.

Other economic clusters

Photo: www.mediaserver.hamburg.de / imagefoto.de

Caroline Molitoris

Caroline Molitoris

Marketing Managerin Conventions
Fokus: Medien & IT, Kreativwirtschaft, Erneuerbare Energien & Smart City

caroline.molitoris@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-615

   

Erneuerbare Energien Hamburg

Die noch relativ junge Branche der erneuerbaren Energien wächst in der Hansestadt überproportional. Die Metropolregion Hamburg ist zwischen Nord- und Ostsee mit ihren guten Windverhältnissen ein idealer Standort für Windenergieanlagen – Onshore und Offshore. Große international operierende Hersteller wie Areva Wind, Gamesa, General Electric, Nordex, REpower Systems, Siemens oder Vestas sind hier angesiedelt. Während sich in Hamburg vor allem Firmenzentralen und Forschungsabteilungen mit internationaler Ausrichtung etabliert haben, sind an der Nord- und Ostseeküste Produktionsstandorte entstanden, beispielsweise in Cuxhaven, Stade und Brunsbüttel. Wichtige Branchenplattform ist die im Wechsel in Hamburg und Husum stattfindende Fachmesse WindEnergy.

Der Wirtschaftszweig erneuerbare Energien mit den Bereichen Wind, Solar und Biomasse zählt insgesamt knapp 1.500 Betriebe mit rund 25.000 Beschäftigten in der Metropolregion, von denen 14.500 in Hamburg angestellt sind. Hervorzuheben ist die hohe Kompetenz in den Bereichen Management, Projektentwicklung, Ingenieurdienstleistungen, Verkauf und Marketing sowie ein breites Angebot an Dienstleistungen wie Finanzierung, Versicherung und Zertifizierung.

Bereits ein Jahr nach der Gründung der Clusterinitiative Erneuerbare Energien Hamburg GmbH (EEHH) 2011 hatten sich schon rund 150 Unternehmen dem Netzwerk angeschlossen. Gesellschafter sind die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg und der Verein zur Förderung des Clusters Erneuerbare Energien Hamburg e.V. Die Initiative bündelt die breit gefächerten Kompetenzen der Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen und fördert Schnittstellen zu anderen Branchen, z.B. zum Bereich neuer Werkstoffe und Materialien, aber auch zur maritimen Wirtschaft oder zur Luftfahrtindustrie.

Lebensqualität, Umweltschutz und die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung profitieren direkt vom Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien. Die Clusteraktivitäten zielen darauf ab, diese positiven Aussichten vor allem auch auf den Exportmärkten langfristig zu sichern und die Metropolregion Hamburg zu einem führenden Standort der Branche auszubauen. Dabei spielen Vernetzung, Qualifizierung, (internationales) Standortmarketing und die gezielte Unterstützung von Innovationen eine wichtige Rolle.

Weitere Wirtschaftscluster

Foto: www.mediaserver.hamburg.de / imagefoto.de