Hamburg’s hotels – just as multifaceted and cosmopolitan as the city itself

With Karin, Florian and Saskia, discover the latest highlights of the Hamburg hotel scene!

Hamburgers are hosts by tradition. The maritime trade metropolis and second-largest city in Germany currently boasts 334 hotels with a total of almost 60,000 beds. New projects are set to expand this capacity by more than 4,500 beds by 2019. About two thirds of Hamburg’s hotels are in the three- to four-star range. Thirteen of these belong to the category of luxury hotels.

Four new additions are currently causing a stir. Together, we paid them a visit, and the conclusion was clear: style and pleasure, innovation and tradition, business and leisure – in Hamburg, anyone looking for variety and singularity is in the right place.

Timeless savoir-vivre in the TORTUE HAMBURG

Short travel times between locations make Hamburg one of the most liveable cities in Europe. We start our tour in the heart of the metropolis, not far from lake Alster and the river Elbe. Among promenades and waterways, the inner city shows us its most elegant side. Surrounded by a newly developed ensemble of historical buildings and courtyards – the “Stadthöfe Hamburg” – the boutique hotel TORTUE HAMBURG receives us with French charm and timeless savoir-vivre.

The name of the hotel says it all: The Tortue– in English: turtle – was once the animal companion to French flaneurs who, at a leislurely pace, showed off their fine living along city streets. Enchanted by this noblesse, we feel as if we are on an excursion through the Belle Époque as we let our gazes wander over the masterfully restored historical facade in the courtyard.

Refined indulgence on a never-ending loop

We leave the noise of the world utterly behind us as we enter the hotel. The interior of the TORTUE HAMBURG amazes with its extravagant details and rich array of colours, patterns, materials and spaces.
In the 126 rooms and suites of the hotel, guests find elegant comfort and inspiration.
For business events, parties or exclusive dinners, there are three individually arranged salons and two private dining rooms.
The overall concept combining hotellery, cuisine and night life also includes a thrilling gastronomical selection: The “brasserie”, the Asian restaurant JIN GUI as well as three bars (“bar bleu”, “bar noir” and “bar “privé”) offer space for up to 400 guests. This is a place to congress, to celebrate and to enjoy at any time of day. The magic of the hotel is simply irresistible. Which is why, as we make to leave, we resolve to come back soon.
From the bustling pavement of the inner city, we set off for the water. Sailboats float by behind a picturesque park landscape. The calls of seagulls mix with the horns of small passenger ships. For Hamburgers, the lake Alster is an urban oasis and a sports field at once. Sailing enthusiasts here meet canoers, stand-up paddlers and surfers.

The Fontenay: Modern luxury and an exclusive view of the Alster

From one of the most beautiful spots on the shore, a fascinating architectural masterpiece emerges. The building, inspired by water, trees and sky, unites closeness to nature with the lifestyle of a modern metropolis. The Fontenay is not only a true gem for Hamburg, but also one of the best hotels in all of Germany.
130 luxurious rooms and suites, all of which feature a private balcony, offer guests an exquisite ambience with new, high-quality materials and technical extras such as individualised lighting control via touchpad.
In four meeting rooms with natural daylight, up to 120 guests can take part in conferences, workshops, presentations or receptions. The view onto greenery lures us from the spacious foyer area onto the summer terrace of the casual garden restaurant “Parkview.” Here, the original Hamburg lifestyle is alive and well!

Flawless from lobby to rooftop terrace

On the way to the rooftop terrace, we cast one last glance at the breath-taking view down onto the 27-metre-high atrium below us. The Fontenay Bar on the sixth floor leads us outdoors, where, at eye level with the Hamburg skyline, we enjoy the hotel’s own cocktail creations. On the next floor, the restaurant “Lakeside” awaits us with gourmet cuisine, private dining rooms and a panoramic view of the lake Alster. As we depart, we agree: We could spend days here and wouldn’t miss a thing.

The JUFA Hotel Hamburg: A top location in the HafenCity

From the shore of the Alster, we take a leap to the harbour: To the HafenCity, to be precise. Here, the future is already taking place: Before the panorama of the largest German seaport, a centrally located maritime neighbourhood is coming into being. The largest downtown construction project in Europe is setting trends for urban multiplicity and colourful living on the water. Spurred on by the crisp breeze that blows against us, we stroll by the cruise ship giants to the JUFA Hotel Hamburg HafenCity, the new flagship of the Austrian chain of the same name, which now finds itself on an international expansion course. In this, the hotel’s growing MICE offerings are playing a large role, as the chain had previously been known above all for its family-friendly programme.
The Hamburg JUFA Hotel offers event organisers and their guests 220 rooms as well as four individually combinable seminar and workshop spaces for up to 180 people.
Added to these is a light-flooded atrium that accommodates a maximum of 700 people. Thanks to state-of-the-art conference technology, this accessible area can provide a space for events in a range of formats, from car presentations through product launches all the way to official ceremonies.

Explore Hamburg
from the water

The immediate proximity of the Elbe’s waves draws us onto the sun terrace. A stay at the JUFA Hotel is an invitation to explore Hamburg from the water. And for seminar breaks, a walk in the Baakenpark directly opposite immediately suggests itself. Sounds like a leisure activity? Why not? Precisely someone traveling for business needs some fun and relaxation. Both are to be found in abundance in Hamburg. With this in mind, we bid farewell with a joyful “Ahoy!” and set off from the bank of the Elbe in the direction of the airport.

Hotel Nordport Plaza:
Hospitality flying high

We didn’t promise too much: In Hamburg even the airport is only a short distance away. From the HafenCity, we reach it in less than 40 minutes via public transportation. Those who take a taxi from the inner city can arrive in around 20 minutes.

350 flights take off or land in Northern Germany’s largest airport every day. 65 airlines directly connect the Hanseatic city with around 130 national and international destinations. 900 destinations world-wide are reachable from Hamburg with just a single layover. An outstanding airport in the true sense of the word: For the third time already, in 2018 the Hamburg Airport was again singled out for the renowned “Best Airport Award” in the category of those serving 10-25 million passengers.

Perfectly located by the Hamburg Airport, with 188 rooms and ample spaces for every occasion, the Nordport Plaza Hotel is an ideal business locale. Business class service also marks the concept of this hotel, the first of the brand Tribute Portfolio, a subsidiary of the Marriott Group, to be opened in Germany.
As soon as we check-in, the captivating flair of the lobby has us dreaming of the classic lifestyle of the 1960s. Separate business lounges – each with its own fireplace – and a friendly café lend meetings or small breaks a singular note. In a lounge with a library, travellers can find rest and diversion.
With combinable convention spaces and mobile conference equipment, the Hotel Nordport Plaza boasts tailor-made solutions for meetings, conferences and seminars for up to 300 people.
For exceptional events, the Senator Lounge on the ninth floor suggests itself. We naturally don’t want to miss the view of the airport and far into the city. How perfect that we can fortify ourselves with light refreshments at the bar at the same time!

Take off and enjoy

In the simple elegance of the hotel’s à la carte restaurant, we are treated to the pleasure of an innovative food concept: Fine international cuisine served in bowls and plates on airplane trolleys. In addition to a stylish presentation, this is also a matter of sustainability, since fewer dishes are sent back. We are thrilled with this upgrade!
Hamburg combines maritime atmosphere with urban variety. Business travellers here find an attractive supporting programme of culture and nature, gastronomy, shopping and entertainment. The Hanseatic city boasts a selection of hotels that is no less varied.
We hope that we’ve been able to inspire you to visit or host an event in Hamburg. It would be our pleasure to assist you in making your event just as successful as it is unforgettable. We would be happy to support you in planning and implementation, to give you ideas and to arrange contacts. Get in touch with us anytime! We look forward to meeting you!

Photos: Christian Spahrbier, The Fontenay, Nordport Plaza Hotel

Hamburgs Hotellerie – so facettenreich und weltläufig wie die Stadt

Erkunden Sie mit Karin, Florian und Saskia die neuesten Highlights der Hamburger Hotel-Szene!

Hamburger sind Gastgeber aus Tradition. Die Seehandelsmetropole und zweitgrößte Stadt Deutschlands verfügt derzeit über 334 Hotels mit insgesamt fast 60.000 Betten. Neue Projekte sollen diese Kapazität bis 2019 um mehr als 4.500 Betten erhöhen. Rund zwei Drittel der Hamburger Hotels bewegen sich im Drei- bis Vier-Sterne-Bereich. Dreizehn Häuser zählen zur Luxuskategorie.

Gleich vier spannende Neuzugänge machen derzeit von sich reden. Wir haben allen einen Besuch abgestattet und festgestellt: Stil und Genuss, Innovation und Tradition, Business und Freizeit – wer die Vielfalt und das Besondere sucht, liegt in Hamburg genau richtig.

Zeitloses Savoir-vivre im
Tortue Hamburg

Kurze Wege machen Hamburg zu einer der lebenswertesten Metropolen Europas. Wir starten unsere Tour im Herzen der Stadt, unweit von Alster und Elbe. Zwischen Flaniermeilen und Wasserwegen zeigt sich die Innenstadt von ihrer elegantesten Seite. Inmitten eines neu entwickelten historischen Gebäude-Ensembles – den Stadthöfen Hamburg – empfängt uns das Boutique-Hotel TORTUE HAMBURG mit französischem Charme und zeitlosem Savoir-vivre.
Der Name des Hotels ist Programm: Die Tortue– zu Deutsch: Schildkröte– war einst tierische Begleiterin französischer Flaneure, die in gelassenem Gang über das Trottoir ihre Lebenskunst zur Schau stellten. Bezaubert von dieser Noblesse fühlen wir uns wie auf einem Abstecher in die Belle Époque, als wir im Innenhof unseren Blick über die meisterhaft restaurierte historische Fassade schweifen lassen.

Genuss mit Raffinesse in Endlosschleife

Vollkommen hinter uns lassen wir den Lärm der Welt als wir das Hotel betreten. Das Interieur des TORTUE HAMBURG überrascht mit extravaganten Details sowie mit einer großzügigen Vielfalt aus Farben, Mustern, Materialien und Raumlösungen.
In den 126 Zimmern und Suiten des Hauses finden Gäste eleganten Komfort und Inspiration.
Für Geschäftliches, Feste oder exklusive Dinner gibt es drei individuell gestaltete Salons sowie zwei Private Dining Rooms.
Das Gesamtkonzept aus Hotellerie, Kulinarik und Nachtleben beinhaltet auch eine spannende gastronomische Auswahl: Die „brasserie“, das asiatische Restaurant JIN GUI sowie drei Bars („bar bleu“, „bar noir“ und „bar privé“) bieten Raum für bis zu 400 Personen. Hier lässt es sich rund um die Uhr tagen, feiern und genießen. Die Magie des Hauses ist einfach unwiderstehlich. Beim Aufbruch nehmen wir uns deshalb vor, bald wiederzukommen.
Vom geschäftigen Innenstadt-Pflaster machen wir uns auf den Weg ans Wasser. Hinter einer malerischen Parklandschaft tauchen Segelboote auf. Möwengezwitscher mischt sich in das Tuten kleiner Passagierschiffe. Für die Hamburger ist die Alster Stadtoase und Sportplatz zugleich. Segelbegeisterte treffen sich hier mit Kanufahrern, Stand-Up Paddlern und Surfern.

The Fontenay: Moderner Luxus
und exklusiver Alsterblick

An einem der schönsten Uferplätze erhebt sich ein faszinierendes Baukunstwerk. Die von Wasser, Bäumen und Himmel inspirierte Architektur vereint Naturverbundenheit mit dem Lebensgefühl einer modernen Metropole. The Fontenay ist nicht nur ein wahres Schmuckstück für Hamburg, sondern auch eines der besten Hotels Deutschlands.
130 luxuriöse Zimmer und Suiten, von denen alle einen privaten Balkon haben, bieten den Gästen ein exquisites Ambiente mit hochwertigen Neumaterialien und technischen Extras, wie etwa eine individuelle Lichtsteuerung per Touchpad.
In vier Meeting Räumen mit Tageslicht können bis zu 120 Personen an Konferenzen, Workshops, Präsentationen oder Empfängen teilnehmen. Der Blick ins Grüne lockt uns vom großzügigen Foyer-Bereich auf die Sommerterrasse des legeren Gartenrestaurants “Parkview”. Hier wird original Hamburger Lebensart gepflegt!

Formvollendet von der Lobby bis zur Dachterrasse

Auf dem Weg zur Dachterrasse werfen wir noch einen Blick, der uns sprachlos macht, zurück nach unten in das 27 Meter tiefe Atrium. Die Fontenay Bar im sechsten Stock führt uns ins Freie, wo wir auf Augenhöhe mit der Hamburger Skyline hauseigene Cocktail-Kreationen genießen. Eine Etage höher wartet das Restaurant “Lakeside” mit Gourmetküche, privaten Dining-Rooms und einem Rundumblick über die Alster. Beim Abschied sind wir uns einig: Wir könnten hier Tage verbringen, ohne irgendetwas zu vermissen.

Das JUFA Hotel Hamburg:
Top-Lage in der HafenCity

Vom Alsterufer machen wir einen Sprung an den Hafen, genauer gesagt in die HafenCity. Hier findet Zukunft statt: Vor dem Panorama des größten deutschen Seehafens entsteht ein zentral gelegener maritimer Stadtteil. Das größte innerstädtische Bauprojekt Europas setzt Trends für urbane Vielfalt und ein buntes Leben am Wasser. Beflügelt von der frischen Brise, die uns entgegenweht, flanieren wir vorbei an Kreuzfahrtriesen zum JUFA Hotel Hamburg HafenCity, dem neuen Flaggschiff der gleichnamigen österreichischen Kette, die sich international auf Expansionskurs befindet. Eine wichtige Rolle dabei spielt das wachsende MICE-Angebot der bisher vor allem für ihr familienfreundliches Programm bekannten Häuser.
Das Hamburger JUFA Hotel bietet Veranstaltern und ihren Gästen 220 Zimmer sowie vier individuell kombinierbare Seminar- und Workshop-Räume für bis zu 180 Personen.
Hinzu kommt das lichtdurchflutete Atrium, in dem maximal 700 Personen Platz finden. Auf dieser befahrbaren Fläche lassen sich dank modernster Tagungstechnik von der Autopräsentation über den Produktlaunch bis zum Festakt unterschiedliche Formate perfekt in Szene setzen.

Hamburg vom Wasser aus entdecken

Die unmittelbare Nähe der Elbwellen zieht uns auf die Sonnenterrasse. Ein Aufenthalt im JUFA Hotel lädt dazu ein, Hamburg vom Wasser aus zu entdecken. Und für Seminarpausen bietet sich ein Spaziergang im direkt gegenüberliegenden Baakenpark an. Klingt nach Freizeit? Warum nicht? Gerade wer geschäftlich unterwegs ist, braucht Spaß und Erholung. Beides ist in Hamburg reichlich zu finden. In diesem Sinne verabschieden wir uns mit einem fröhlichen “Ahoi!” undverlassendas Elbufer in Richtung Flughafen.

Nordport Plaza Hotel:
Ein Höhenflug der Gastlichkeit

Wir haben nicht zu viel versprochen: Kurze Wege führen in Hamburg auch zum Flughafen. Von der HafenCity aus erreichen wir ihn mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln in weniger als 40 Minuten. Wer von der Innenstadt aus mit dem Taxi fährt, kann in rund 20 Minuten ankommen.

350 Flüge starten oder landen täglich in Norddeutschlands größtem Flughafen. 65 Airlines verbinden die Hansestadt mit rund 130 nationalen und internationalen Zielen direkt. 900 Destinationen weltweit sind mit nur einem Stopover von Hamburg aus erreichbar. Ein im wahrsten Sinne ausgezeichneter Flughafen: Bereits zum dritten Mal hat Hamburg Airport 2018 den renommierten “Best Airport Award” in der Kategorie 10-25 Millionen Passagiere erhalten.

In perfekter Lage am Hamburger Flughafen, mit 188 Zimmern sowie passenden Räumlichkeiten für jeden Anlass ist das Nordport Plaza Hotel eine ideale Business-Adresse. Business Class Service prägt auch das Konzept dieses ersten in Deutschland eröffneten Hauses der Marke Tribute Portfolio, die zur Marriott-Gruppe gehört.
Das hinreißende Flair der Lobby lässt uns schon beim Check-in vom klassischen Lifestyle der 60er Jahre träumen. Separate Business Lounges mit eigenen Kaminen und ein freundliches Café verleihen Besprechungen oder kleinen Pausen eine besondere Note. In einer Lounge mit Bibliothek können Reisende Ruhe und Zerstreuung finden.
Mit kombinierbaren Tagungsräumen und mobilem Konferenzequipment ermöglicht das Nordport Plaza Hotel maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Meetings, Tagungen und Seminare für bis zu 300 Personen.
Für außergewöhnliche Events bietet sich die Senator Lounge in der neunten Etage an. Den Ausblick auf den Flughafen und weit in die Stadt hinein wollen wir uns natürlich nicht entgehen lassen. Wie schön, dass wir uns dabei mit einer kleinen Erfrischung am Tresen stärken können!

Abheben und geniessen

Im schlicht eleganten à-la-Carte Restaurant des Hauses kommen wir in den Genuss eines innovativen Food-Konzepts: Feine internationale Küche, die aufgeteilt in Schüsseln und Tellern auf Flugzeug Trolleys serviert wird. Neben einer stilvollen Präsentation geht es hier auch um Nachhaltigkeit, da weniger Speisenrückläufe entstehen. Von diesem Upgrade sind wir restlos begeistert!
Hamburg verbindet seine maritime Atmosphäre mit urbaner Vielfalt. Business-Reisende finden hier ein attraktives Rahmenprogramm aus Kultur und Natur, Gastronomie, Shopping und Entertainment. Genauso facettenreich ist auch die Hotelauswahl der Hansestadt.
Wir freuen uns, wenn wir Sie zu einem Besuch oder einer Veranstaltung in Hamburg inspirieren konnten. Sehr gern unterstützen wir Sie dabei, Ihr Event ebenso erfolgreich wie unvergesslich zu machen. Außerdem beraten wir Sie bei der Planung und Durchführung, geben Ihnen Anregungen und vermitteln Kontakte. Sprechen Sie uns jederzeit an! Wir freuen uns auf Sie!
Fotos: Christian Spahrbier, The Fontenay, Nordport Plaza Hotel