Hamburg scores high in quality of life, skilled professionals and dynamic growth

With more than 60,000 events and more than two million participants annually, Hamburg confirms its relevance as a convention and congress location in Germany’s north. The Lions Clubs International Convention in the summer of 2013 was the biggest congress in the history of the city, with approximately 23,000 guests from around the world. The city on the River Elbe is now preparing for its next large-scale international event, as it will play host to the 2019 Rotary Convention.

An ever-increasing number of visitors, a dynamically growing tourism market and continued interest among investors clearly illustrate the attractiveness of this destination. Hamburg is one of the most popular destinations among German residents and scores high in international comparison thanks to the city’s high quality of life, its large potential for highly skilled workers and an excellent infrastructure suited to hosting congresses and meetings.

In addition to traditional business travellers, trade visitors and private travellers, about one-fifth of overnight stays in Hamburg are attributable to meetings, incentives, conventions and events in Hamburg. This corresponds to about 2.5 million overnight stays annually – and numbers are rising.

The new CCH – the world’s stage

The CCH – Congress Center Hamburg contributes to Hamburg’s role as a gateway for leading national and international conferences and events. Many world congresses and major innovative events from various industries have been at home in the heart of Hamburg for decades. With its multifunctional halls the CCH serves as a venue for all kinds of events – ranging from highly academic medical congresses and association meetings from various industry sectors, general meetings of DAX companies and corporate presentations to spectacular cultural and social events.

The central location of the CCH is unique as the exhibition grounds and the city centre are within a few minutes’ walking distance, and the Dammtor train station is but a few steps away. All those arriving by ICE long-distance trains literally arrive at the CCH’s front door. And even the airport is just ten kilometres away and is easily accessible by S-Bahn.

More than 8,000 hotel rooms across all categories are located in close proximity to the CCH. The CCH is surrounded by the lush greenery of Planten un Blomen, one of the city’s most beautiful parks and recreational areas. Its special attractions include the largest Japanese garden in Europe, a skating rink and, during the summer months, water light concerts.

From 2017 to 2019, the CCH and its foregrounds will be completely redesigned and modernised. The concept provides for e.g. an entrance hall the height of the building, 50 conference rooms comprising a total of 36,000 square metres, barrier-free access to the Dammtor railway station and an extension of the adjacent park area. Further information on the new CCH can be found here.

Sustainable opportunities for green meetings

As a green metropolis, Hamburg provides the perfect setting for planning events in an eco-friendly way. More and more hotels and service providers are embracing this approach and train their staff in the area of sustainability or acquire certification according to the international Green Globe environmental standard.

In Hamburg’s restaurant and catering industry, regional specialties are experiencing a true renaissance. Short distances between conference hotels, venues, points of interest and cultural hotspots and the city’s excellent public infrastructure have a positive impact on the city’s ecological balance sheet as CO2-intensive transfers are avoided. With the HVV-KombiTicket for conferences, meetings and seminars, participants can travel across Hamburg’s entire local public transport network at reasonable rates and in a climate-friendly way. Participants arriving in and departing from Hamburg as a group can make use of Deutsche Bahn’s Veranstaltungsticket.

A waterside metropolis with many facets and exceptional event locations

Whether you are planning a conference or a creative meeting, a client event or staff training – the Hamburg Metropolitan Region provides exceptional rooms for both large events and small meetings. The spectrum ranges from modern hotels with flexible meeting venues in a central location, and industrial lofts and historic warehouses to elegant mansions or conference hotels with adjoining golf resorts. What is more, Hamburg provides a dense network of professional services – from catering and event agencies to experts in state-of-the-art event technology.

Easy access

Hamburg is known for its superb infrastructure and its expansive transport links. Learn more about special offers for conferences and conventions.

Social programms

Whether it is traditional or offbeat, a gala evening or a pub night – in Hamburg you will find abundant inspiration, the suitable location, and the perfect service for your event.

Incentives

Hamburg’s most beautiful spots are on the water, and you can choose from a broad range of opportunities for active, one-of-a-kind teambuilding events. Be inspired and explore new ideas for your event planning.

Photos: CCH – Planung Arbeitsgemeinschaft agnLeusmann mit TIM HUPE Architekten, Hamburg & Visualisierung bloomimages, gothsch wagner (2), Michael Zapf*, Jörg Modrow*, Kai-Uwe Gundlach*, CCH – Planung Arbeitsgemeinschaft agnLeusmann mit TIM HUPE Architekten, Hamburg & Visualisierung bloomimages, Roberto Kai Hegeler*; owi DiaSign, clipdealer, Andreas Vallbracht*, Cap San Diego, Altes Mädchen, Louis C. Jacob, 25hours, Mövenpick, clouds heaven’s kitchen & bar, Gastwerk, Elbpanorama, clipdealer, Witters GmbH Sportfotografie*, Christian Spahrbier* | *www.mediaserver.hamburg.de

Hamburg punktet mit Lebensqualität, Fachkräften und Dynamik

Mit mehr als 60.000 Veranstaltungen und über zwei Millionen Teilnehmern im Jahr unterstreicht Hamburg seine Bedeutung als Messe- und Kongressstandort im Norden der Bundesrepublik. Den bisher größten Kongress in der Geschichte der Hansestadt bildete die Lions Clubs International Convention im Sommer 2013 mit rund 23.000 Gästen aus der ganzen Welt. Als Gastgeberin der Rotary Convention 2019 bereitet sich die Elbmetropole auf das nächste internationale Großereignis vor.

Deutliche Indizien für die Attraktivität der Destination sind die konstant steigenden Besucherzahlen, der dynamisch wachsende Hotelmarkt sowie das Interesse von Investoren. Hamburg zählt zu den beliebtesten Reisezielen der Deutschen und kann auch im internationalen Vergleich durch eine hohe Lebensqualität, das große Potenzial an Fachkräften sowie eine ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur für Kongresse und Tagungen punkten.

Neben den traditionellen Geschäftsreisenden, Messebesuchern und privatmotivierten Reisenden sind über ein Fünftel der Übernachtungen auf Meetings, Incentives, Conventions und Events in der Hansestadt zurückzuführen. Das entspricht etwa 2,5 Millionen Übernachtungen – Tendenz steigend.

Das neue CCH – die Bühne zur Welt

Das CCH – Congress Center Hamburg macht Hamburg zum Tor für nationale und international führende Kongresse und Veranstaltungen. Viele Weltkongresse und zukunftsweisende Leitveranstaltungen der unterschiedlichsten Branchen sind seit Jahrzehnten im Herzen von Hamburg zu Hause. Mit seinen multifunktionalen Sälen bietet das CCH Raum für Veranstaltungen jeder Art: von hochwissenschaftlichen Medizinkongressen und Verbandstagungen verschiedenster Branchen über Hauptversammlungen von DAX-Unternehmen und Firmenpräsentationen bis zu spektakulären kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Events.

Einmalig ist die zentrale Lage des CCH – das Messegelände und die City sind zu Fuß in nur wenigen Minuten zu erreichen. Bis zum Dammtorbahnhof sind es sogar nur ein paar Schritte. Fernreisende fahren mit dem ICE sozusagen bis vor die Tür. Selbst der Flughafen ist nur zehn Kilometer entfernt und bequem mit der S-Bahn erreichbar.

Mehr als 8.000 Hotelzimmer in allen Kategorien befinden sich im nahen Umkreis. Grün eingerahmt wird das CCH von einer der schönsten Park- und Freizeitanlagen der Elbmetropole: Planten un Blomen. Zu den besonderen Attraktionen gehören der größte japanische Garten Europas, eine Kunsteisbahn und die sommerlichen Wasserlichtkonzerte.

Von 2017 bis 2019 werden das CCH sowie der Vorplatz komplett umgestaltet und modernisiert. Das Konzept sieht unter anderem eine gebäudehohe Eingangshalle, 50 Säle auf 36.000 m² Gesamtfläche, einen barrierefreien Zugang zum Dammtorbahnhof sowie eine Erweiterung der angrenzenden Parkfläche vor. Noch mehr Infos über das neue CCH finden Sie hier.

Nachhaltige Angebote für Green Meetings

Als grüne Millionenstadt bietet Hamburg den perfekten Rahmen für die umweltbewusste Planung von Veranstaltungen. Immer mehr Hotels und Dienstleister stellen sich auf den Trend ein, schulen ihre Mitarbeiter in puncto Nachhaltigkeit oder lassen sich nach dem international geltenden Umweltstandard Green Globe zertifizieren.

So stehen beim Catering und in den Küchen regionale Spezialitäten wieder hoch im Kurs. Kurze Wege zwischen Tagungshotels, Locations, Sehenswürdigkeiten und kulturellen Hotspots sowie die ausgezeichnete öffentliche Infrastruktur wirken außerdem schonend auf die Öko-Bilanz, da CO2-intensive Transfers vermieden werden. Mit dem HVV-KombiTicket für Kongresse, Tagungen und Seminare fahren Teilnehmer im gesamten Hamburger Nahverkehrsnetz besonders günstig und klimafreundlich. Für die Hin- und Rückfahrt von Gruppen nach Hamburg kann außerdem das Veranstaltungsticket der Deutschen Bahn genutzt werden.

Metropole mit vielen Facetten und außergewöhnlichen Veranstaltungsorten

Ob Fachtagung oder Kreativmeeting, Kundenevent oder Mitarbeiterschulung – die Metropolregion hält für große Veranstaltungen oder kleinere Meetings außergewöhnliche Räume bereit. Die Auswahl reicht von modernen Hotels mit variablen Tagungsflächen in zentraler Lage, Industrielofts, historischen Lagerhäusern bis zu stilvollen Herrenhäusern oder Seminarhotels mit angeschlossenem Golfresort. Hinzu kommt ein dichtes Netz professioneller Dienstleistungen – vom Catering über Eventagenturen bis zu moderner Veranstaltungstechnik.

Einfach ankommen

Hamburg ist bekannt für seine gut ausgebauten und weitreichenden Verbindungen. Erfahren Sie mehr über die speziellen Angebote für Kongresse und Tagungen.

Rahmenprogramme

Ob klassisch oder ausgefallen, Gala oder Kiezparty – in der Elbmetropole finden Sie die richtige Inspiration, die passende Location und den perfekten Service für Ihre Veranstaltung.

 

Incentives

Auf und am Wasser ist Hamburg am schönsten und die Auswahl für aktive und außergewöhnliche Teambuilding-Angebote besonders groß. Planen Sie mit neuen Ideen.

Fotos: CCH – Planung Arbeitsgemeinschaft agnLeusmann mit TIM HUPE Architekten, Hamburg & Visualisierung bloomimages, gothsch wagner (2), Michael Zapf*, Jörg Modrow*, Kai-Uwe Gundlach*, CCH – Planung Arbeitsgemeinschaft agnLeusmann mit TIM HUPE Architekten, Hamburg & Visualisierung bloomimages, Roberto Kai Hegeler*; owi DiaSign, clipdealer, Andreas Vallbracht*, Cap San Diego, Altes Mädchen, Louis C. Jacob, 25hours, Mövenpick, clouds heaven’s kitchen & bar, Gastwerk, Elbpanorama, clipdealer, Witters GmbH Sportfotografie*, Christian Spahrbier* | *www.mediaserver.hamburg.de