Discover Hamburg

Taking pride in its long trading history, the Hanseatic City of Hamburg has always cultivated its very own style. Hanseatic merchants have a reputation of upholding the idea of respectability and detesting extravagance and lavishness, and they have shaped the face of the city over centuries. Hamburg’s places of interest are closely linked with the city’s history and tradition, and while these sights might not compete with the Eiffel Tower in terms of popularity they are no less unique.

Hamburg offers its guests a large choice of guided tours and city walks, as well as boat trips on the River Elbe and the Alster Lake, and there are even bus tours taking visitors through the container port. Many of Hamburg’s tourists attractions are well within walking distance or can be reached conveniently by local public transport.

Town hall

Today’s town hall is the sixth in the history of the city and has been the seat of the Hamburg Senate (i.e. the state government) and the Hamburg State Parliament since 1897. It was built in a neo-renaissance style after the Great Fire of 1842. Each year on 24 February, the town hall plays host to the traditional Matthiae dinner with about 400 guests from the realms of politics, business, culture and science as well as the city’s consular corps. With a tradition that goes back to 1356, it is the world’s oldest dinner banquet that is still hosted today.

The town hall’s magnificent interior can be viewed as part of a guided tour. To learn more and to sign up for a group tour in English or French, please call + 49 40 428 31-2064.

Speicherstadt

The Speicherstadt is more than 100 years old and is considered the world’s largest contiguous warehouse complex. In 2015 it was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Situated in the former free port, the red-brick building ensemble with its thick walls, copper roofs and blocks and tackles was built on oak piles between 1883 and 1888 and is among Hamburg’s main attractions.

On an area that was once used for storing coffee, tea and other spices, visitors can now marvel at the Miniatur Wunderland, the world’s largest model railway, or experience spine-chilling tales of Klaus Störtebeker, the famous buccaneer, at the Hamburg Dungeon. The Speicherstadt’s spice museum provides insights into the history of the warehouse complex and the lives of stevedores at the time, while the adjacent wine cellar serves as a venue for parties. Restaurants, cafés and quaint historic warehouse floors offer unique event venues.

HafenCity & Elbphilharmonie

A new urban quarter comprising 150 square kilometres has been taking shape between Kehrwiederspitze and the Elbbrücken bridges since 2008: the HafenCity Hamburg district. The HafenCity invites you to discover the International Maritime Museum Hamburg, the Tall Ship Harbour, the statue of Störtebeker the buccaneer, as well as the Cruise Center HafenCity. The cafés, restaurants and other venues of the HafenCity impress with their central location and an unobstructed view of the River Elbe.

The Elbphilharmonie concert hall with its distinctive architecture rises as a new landmark on its plinth of the historic warehouse Kaispeicher A. Designed by architect Werner Kallmorgen, the red-bricked Kaispeicher A was built in 1963 on more than 1,000 concrete piles. Today, it carries the weight of the glassed superstructure of the concert hall above it. Each of the Elbphilharmonie’s 1,100 arched windows is unique. The centrepiece of the building is the grand concert hall at a height of 50 metres, which provides seating for 2,100 persons. For acoustic reasons the concert hall is isolated from the outer walls and rests on giant spring assemblies. The small concert hall seats 550 persons and is intended for chamber music concerts as well as balls and banquets.

The Elbphilharmonie also comprises the Kaistudio, a venue that will be used for experimental music and provides seating for 150. In addition to this, the Elbphilharmonie will house a hotel, a restaurant, 45 residential units and a parking garage. An 82 metre-long, curved escalator leads visitors from the entrance on the east side to a panoramic window overlooking the port. From here you can access the public Plaza square, which is situated at a height of 37 metres above sea level. The Plaza covers an area of 4,000 square metres and is almost as big as Hamburg’s Rathausmarkt square. It offers a spectacular panoramic view of Hamburg.

Reeperbahn

Hamburg’s most famous and most notorious street has become something of a recognised cultural asset. Today the Reeperbahn is lined with night clubs, theatres, musical venues, restaurants and bars that provide for a colourful nightlife experience. The Reeperbahn, which has a length of 930 metres, owes its seedy reputation to legions of sailors, who in the old days would have spent their week’s pay in the pubs and bordellos of St Pauli.

The name itself, however, goes back to a very honourable trade: the Low German word Reeperbahn means ropewalk – a straight lane where long strands of fibre are laid before being twisted into rope. From 1630, local rope makers would manufacture long ropes of up to 300 metres here, which would be used in the rigging of sailing ships. More recently, the Reeperbahn became a part of music history, when in the early 1960s the Beatles started their world career in the clubs of the St Pauli district. Music continues to play an important role on the Reeperbahn and its many side streets – most notably during the Reeperbahn Festival in September, when the Reeperbahn is transformed into one big live stage. All those who would like to explore St Pauli and the Reeperbahn on foot can choose between diverse themed guided tours.

Jungfernstieg

In the very heart of the city centre, the grand Jungfernstieg boulevard stretches along the southern banks of the Inner Alster Lake. In 1838 the Jungfernstieg became Germany’s first street to be asphalted. With its central location, it is an important traffic hub within Hamburg’s local public transport network. In close proximity to the Jungfernstieg you will find the legendary Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, the historic Alsterarkaden, the town hall, as well as numerous shopping arcades and exclusive retail shops.

The boulevard dates back to the Middle Ages, when a dam was built to facilitate the use of the Alster’s water for a local corn mill. In the 17th century, trees were planted along the road to create a promenade in the city centre, which was primarily used on Sundays, when eminent Hanseatic merchants would take their unmarried daughters (Jungfern) out on a walk, looking for a suitable bridegroom. This social habit ultimately lent the name to the promenade. Today, the Jungfernstieg offers an unobstructed view of the Inner Alster Lake with its fountain and its Alster barges, which start their round trips and sightseeing tours from here.

St Michaelis Church

Situated on Englische Planke in the Neustadt district, the protestant church St Michaelis is considered to be Hamburg’s landmark. Locals refer to this church simply as Michel. The Baroque copper spire with a height of 132 metres can be seen from almost every corner of the city centre. The tower platform can be reached by lift or on foot via 453 steps. From here, the trumpeter of St Michaelis plays a chorale in each cardinal direction every day. The chorale can be heard Monday to Saturday at 10am and 9pm, and on Sunday and religious holidays at 12pm.

Providing seating for 2,500 persons, St Michaelis Church is the largest of Hamburg’s churches. With a diameter of 8 metres it also features Germany’s largest tower clock. Originally built in 1669, the church burnt down twice in the course of its 400-year history and only the foundation walls remained. Today’s architectural design of the building is based on plans from 1762. In this same year, the church’s crypt was completed; it can be viewed as part of a guided tour. St Michaelis Church does not only serve as the venue for religious services, but also plays host to concerts and book readings. Just beside the church building you will find the historic Grocers’ Apartments – half-timbered residential houses with narrow courtyards characteristic of Hamburg architecture of the 17th century.

St. Pauli Landungsbrücken

Strictly speaking, the St Pauli Landungsbrücken piers are floating pontoons that are linked with the mainland though nine moving bridges. The piers have a length of 688 metres and constitute a popular promenade on the River Elbe. The numbers of the individual bridges also serve as addresses for the retail shops and snack bars located here. This is where the HADAG ferries depart, which can be used with a simple local public transport ticket. It is also the point of departure for various barges and excursion boats, as well as the shuttle service that takes visitors to the “Lion King” and “The Miracle of Bern” musicals on the southern Elbe shore.

During the summer months, the catamaran to the island of Heligoland also departs from the St Pauli Landungsbrücken. The impressive terminal building dates back to 1909. It is constructed from volcanic stone and has been declared a protected building. It houses a number of popular restaurants, among them the Blockbräu and the Hard Rock Café, and also comprises a roof terrace and several souvenir shops. The most striking part of the building complex, which stretches over 205 metres, is the gauge tower that displays not only the time but also the water level.

On the western end of the building you will find the entrance to the Old Elbe Tunnel – a technical monument from 1911 with a length of 426.5 metres, which leads you to the southern banks of the River Elbe. The tunnel is open to pedestrians and cyclists 24 hours a day and can also be used by cars for a fee. Many of the dockworkers at the Blohm + Voss shipyard still use this historic tunnel to get to work, and it has also been the venue for exhibitions and other events.

Alster

The Alster rises north of Hamburg in Henstedt-Ulzburg as a more or less inconspicuous river. Already in the Middle Ages, it was dammed in order to harness the water power to operate mills. The resulting lake was separated in the 17th century through the establishment of fortifications separating the Inner Alster Lake from the Outer Alster Lake. Today, the two lakes with their green banks, small canals, channels and villas characterise Hamburg’s cityscape and provide a charming setting for leisure and relaxation.

A special feature of the Alster are the more than 100 swans who have chosen the Alster as their wintering grounds and are cared for by the municipality. The Outer Alster Lake covers an area of 164 hectares and is a popular spot for sailing, rowing and canoeing. Lining the shores of the Alster you will find numerous hotels, restaurants and venues with a direct view of the water. The Alster provides various opportunities for group incentives – from dragon boating to Alster cruises. The Alster boat fleet includes historic ships and also comprises modern vessels such as a solar-powered boat and the world’s first excursion boat with an emission-free hydrogen drive.

Elbe

The River Elbe has always been a lifeline and major traffic route for Hamburg. It provides direct access to the North Sea about 100 kilometres away and has formed the basis for the development of Hamburg’s port. Huge container ships arrive in Hamburg with the rhythm of the tides and bring goods from overseas, the majority of which is distributed to Central Europe, Scandinavia and the Baltic States by shuttle boat, rail or road. Visitors to Hamburg can best experience the hustle and bustle of the port handling terminals on a traditional harbour boat trip or bus tour. Alternatively it is also well worth taking a trip on one of the HADAG ferries.

These ferries will take you past the St Pauli Landungsbrücken, the historic fish auction hall and the Oevelgönne museum harbour all the way to Teufelsbrück, where the grand Elbchaussee runs adjacent and the Jenischpark invites you to take a stroll. In the summer, numerous beach clubs transform the Elbe banks into an open-air location that exudes a true holiday atmosphere. For event organisers, Hamburg also offers a wide range of maritime options for unforgettable events with a special Hamburg flair.

Museum ships

Two veterans of former seafaring times are moored at the Überseebrücke and salute you from afar: the three-masted barque “Rickmer Rickmers” and the general cargo vessel “Cap San Diego”. Built in Bremerhaven in 1896, the “Rickmer Rickmers” with its slim green bow and high rigging pays tribute to an era when sleek windjammers would traverse the seas to transport rice from Hong Kong or saltpetre from Chile. Today, the ship with its onboard restaurant and alternating exhibitions serves as a museum and event venue. The adventurous can climb the Rickmer Rickmers’ masts as a team, or learn more about Hamburg’s local history in small groups during the “Hidden in Hamburg” quiz.

The “Cap San Diego” also provides an onboard high ropes course, and whoever climbs it will be at a height of around 30 metres above water level. Built in 1961, this cargo vessel was originally part of a series of six ships famous for their elegant hull shape manufactured by the Hamburg Süd shipping company. It is the world’s largest maritime museum ship still in use and can also be booked for charter trips. The ship’s holds, the salon and the pool deck are available for meetings, receptions and parties. Another museum ship can be found in the Hansahafen just next to the Hafenmuseum: the general cargo ship “MS Bleichen”. Built in 1958, it is even older than the “Cap San Diego”. If you would like to host a party onboard a ship or if you are planning an exclusive outing, you will find a whole fleet of historic ships in the HafenCity district and in the Oevelgönne museum harbour. Some of these are still steam-powered, among them the “Scharhörn” and the “Stettin” icebreaker.

Ballinstadt Emigration Museum

Situated in Hamburg’s port, the Ballinstadt Emigration Museum is entirely dedicated to the topic of emigration. In 1901 it was on this very spot that Albert Ballin, general manager of the Hapag shipping company, had emigration halls built. Between 1834 and 1920, about five million Europeans left their homeland via Hamburg looking for a better life in distant America. While the emigration wave was a lucrative business for ship owners, it also brought problems: diseases that would be introduced on a ship could spread rapidly because of the tough conditions on board.

The Ballinstadt emigration halls were thus a kind of modern quarantine station and also served the safety of passengers, who were often deprived of their belongings by fraudsters before their departure. The museum displays the hardship of these people during the crossing in seven chapters. It also houses a genealogical research centre, where visitors can search for emigrated family members via an interactive program. The spacious halls of Ballinstadt can be booked for events of up to 400 guests. To get to the museum you can use the Maritime Circle Line shuttle, which departs from bridge 10 of the St Pauli Landungsbrücken.

Photos:  Michael Zapf / Architekten Herzog & de Meuron*, Sven Schwarze*, Jörg Modrow*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, panthermedia.net / Carl-Jürgen Bautsch, Christian O. Bruch*, Christian Spahrbier*, Elbe & Flut – Thomas Hampel*, Elbe & Flut – Thomas Hampel*, Sven Schwarze*, Iris Herzog*, Christian Spahrbier*, Roberto Kai Hegeler*, Christian Spahrbier*, Jörg Modrow*, Christian Spahrbier*, Andreas Vallbracht*, Sven Schwarze*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, Michael Zapf*, St. Wallocha*, Andreas Vallbracht*, Jörg Modrow*, Christian Spahrbier*, Sven Schwarze*, Sven Schwarze*, Christian Spahrbier*, Kai Uwe Gundlach*, Roberto Kai Hegeler*, Andreas Vallbracht*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, bis Media*,  Christian Spahrbier* | *www.mediaserver.hamburg.de

Hamburg entdecken

Als stolze Bürgerstadt hat Hamburg schon immer einen ganz eigenen Stil gepflegt. Bedacht auf Renommee, aber nicht auf verschwenderische Prunksucht, haben hanseatische Kaufleute im Laufe der Jahrhunderte das Bild der Handelsmetropole geprägt. Tradition und Geschichte sind mit den Sehenswürdigkeiten und Plätzen der Stadt eng verflochten. Sie können in ihrer Berühmtheit vielleicht nicht gerade mit dem Eiffelturm konkurrieren, sind aber nicht weniger einzigartig.

Für Entdeckungen aller Art bietet die Elbmetropole eine Vielzahl von Stadtrundgängen, Führungen sowie Rundfahrten auf Elbe und Alster an. Per Bustour kann sogar ein Containerterminal im Hafen besichtigt werden. Viele bekannte Orte, Museen und Ausstellungen lassen sich auch bequem zu Fuß oder mit dem städtischen Personennahverkehr erreichen.

Rathaus

Das heutige Rathaus ist das sechste in der Geschichte der Stadt und seit 1897 Sitz des Senats und der Bürgerschaft der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg. Es wurde im Stil der norddeutschen Renaissance nach dem großen Brand von 1842 erbaut. Am 24. Februar findet jedes Jahr im Festsaal des Rathauses das berühmte Matthiae-Mahl mit rund 400 Gästen aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Wissenschaft sowie dem Konsularischen Korps statt. Es ist das weltweit älteste noch begangene Festmahl, denn die Tradition reicht bis zum Jahr 1356 zurück.

Die prachtvollen Innenräume des Rathauses können besichtigt werden. Auskunft und Anmeldungen für Gruppen sowie für Führungen in englischer und französischer Sprache unter Telefon + 49 (040) 428 31-2064.

Speicherstadt

Die über hundert Jahre alte Speicherstadt gilt als der größte zusammenhängende Warenlagerkomplex überhaupt und wurde 2015 durch die UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt. Die mit kupfernen Dächern, Flaschenzügen und dicken Mauern von 1883 bis 1888 auf Eichenpfählen errichteten Backsteingebäude im ehemaligen Freihafen sind heute eine der Hauptattraktionen Hamburgs.

Wo einst Kaffee gelagert, Tee verkostet und Kakaobohnen in Säcken gestapelt wurden, können Besucher heute im Miniatur Wunderland die größte Modelleisenbahnanlage der Welt bestaunen oder im Hamburg Dungeon Gruselschichten wie die vom Seeräuber Störtebeker erleben. Das Gewürzmuseum gibt einen Einblick in die Historie der Speicher und die Arbeit der Quartiersleute, während im benachbarten Weinkeller auch gefeiert werden kann. Restaurants, Cafés und urige Speicherböden bieten für Veranstaltungen einzigartige Freiräume.

HafenCity & Elbphilharmonie

Mit der HafenCity entsteht seit 2008 ein neues, mehr als 150 Quadratkilometer großes Quartier zwischen Kehrwiederspitze und Elbbrücken. Hier laden das Internationale Maritime Museum, der Traditionsschiffhafen, das Störtebeker-Denkmal und der Cruise Terminal HafenCity zu Entdeckungen ein. Restaurants und neue Locations beeindrucken mit zentraler Lage und freiem Blick auf die Elbe.

Mit ihrer markanten Architektur erhebt sich die Elbphilharmonie als neues Wahrzeichen der Stadt auf dem Sockel des ehemaligen Kaispeichers A. Der von Werner Kallmorgen entworfene Backsteinbau aus dem Jahr 1963 steht auf mehr als 1000 Betonpfählen und trägt das gläserne Haupt des Konzerthauses. Jedes der 1100 gewölbten Fenster ist ein Unikat. Herzstück des Gebäudes ist der in 50 Metern Höhe schwebende Große Saal mit 2100 Plätzen. Er ruht aus akkustischen Gründen entkoppelt von den Außenwänden auf riesigen Federpaketen. Der Kleine Saal hat 550 Plätze und ist für Kammermusikkonzerte, Bälle oder Bankette vorgesehen, während das Kai Studio (150 Plätze) ein Ort für experimentelle Musik ist. Außerdem befinden sich in der Elbphilharmonie ein Hotel, ein Restaurant, 45 Wohnungen sowie ein Parkhaus. Eine 82 Meter lange, gebogene Rolltreppe führt vom Eingangsbereich an der Ostseite zum Panoramafenster mit Blick auf den Hafen.

Von hier gelangt man zur 37 Meter hochgelegenen Plaza. Die 4000 Quadratmeter große, öffentlich zugängliche Aussichtsplattform ist fast so groß wie der Rathausmarkt und bietet ein spektakuläres 360°-Panorama.

Reeperbahn

Die berühmteste und sündigste Meile der Stadt ist mittlerweile anerkanntes Kulturgut. Musikclubs, Theater, Musicals, Restaurants und Bars sorgen für eine neue Mischung im Nachtleben. Ihren weit bekannten Ruf verdankt die 930 Meter lange Reeperbahn dem Hafen und den Seeleuten, die hier früher in Scharen ihre Heuer durchbrachten. Der Name selbst leitet sich dagegen von einem ganz ordentlichen Gewerbe ab. Reepschläger und Seilmacher fertigten ab 1630 auf bis zu 300 Meter langen Bahnen – den Reeperbahnen – das für die Segelschiffe benötigte Tauwerk.

In der jüngsten Vergangenheit wurde hier internationale Musikgeschichte geschrieben. Die Beatles starteten in den Clubs auf St. Pauli Anfang der 1960er ihre Weltkarriere. Musik spielt auf der Meile zwischen Millern- und Nobistor und den angrenzenden Nebenstraßen immer noch eine ganz große Rolle, vor allem im September, wenn zum Reeperbahn Festival die ganze Straße zur Bühne wird. Wer das Viertel in der Gruppe erkunden möchte, findet jede Menge Stadtrundgänge zu verschiedenen Themen.

Jungfernstieg

Direkt in der City erstreckt sich der Jungfernstieg am südlichen Ufer der Binnenalster. Im Jahr 1838 wurde die Straße als erste in Deutschland asphaltiert. Mit ihrer zentralen Lage ist sie ein wichtiger Knotenpunkt und Umsteigestation im Nahverkehrsnetz. Das legendäre Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, die Alsterarkaden, das Rathaus, Einkaufspassagen und exklusive Geschäfte liegen nur wenige Schritte von der Flaniermeile entfernt.
Ursprünglich war der Jungfernstieg im Mittelalter als Damm aufgeschüttet worden, um mit Hilfe des aufgestauten Flusslaufs eine Kornmühle zu betreiben. Mit der Anpflanzung von Bäumen entstand im 17. Jahrhundert eine Promenade in der Innenstadt, die vor allem sonntags dazu diente, die unverheirateten Töchter angesehener Hanseaten auszuführen. Diese Art der Brautschau war schließlich namensgebend für die Straße. Heute gibt der Jungfernstieg den Blick auf die Fontäne in der Binnenalster und die Alsterschiffe frei, die hier zu Rundfahrten und Besichtigungstouren starten.

Der Michel

Mit ihrem kupfergrünen, barocken Glockenturm ist die evangelische St. Michaelis Kirche an der Englischen Planke das Wahrzeichen Hamburgs. Von Einheimischen wird sie kurz, aber liebevoll einfach „Michel“ genannt. Der 132 Meter hohe Turm ist fast aus allen Winkeln der Innenstadt sichtbar. Seine Aussichtsplattform kann per Lift und über 453 Treppenstufen erreicht werden. Von hier oben bläst der Michel-Trompeter jeden Tag Choräle in alle Richtungen. Werktags sind die Klänge um 10 und 21 Uhr, sonntags und an kirchlichen Feiertagen um 12 Uhr zu hören.

Der Michel ist mit 2.500 Plätzen die größte Kirche Hamburgs und trägt übrigens die mit acht Metern Durchmesser größte Turmuhr Deutschlands. Im Laufe der 400-jährgen Geschichte brannte das aus dem Jahr 1669 stammende Gebäude zweimal bis auf die Grundmauern nieder und wurde komplett wieder aufgebaut. Das heutige Erscheinungsbild des Michels entspricht den Plänen von 1762. In dieser Zeit wurde auch die Krypta ergänzt. Sie kann bei einer Führung besichtigt werden.. Außerdem finden im Michel neben Gottesdiensten auch Konzerte und Lesungen statt. Gleich daneben liegen die historischen Krameramtsstuben, deren Fachwerkhäuser eine typisch Hamburger Hofbebauung aus dem 17. Jahrhundert zeigen.

St. Pauli Landungsbrücken

Genaugenommen handelt es sich bei den St. Pauli Landungsbrücken, um Schwimmpontons, die durch neun bewegliche Brücken mit dem Festland verbunden sind und auf einer Länge von 688 Metern eine Flaniermeile direkt an der Elbe bilden. Die Brücken sind zugleich Hausnummern für Geschäfte und Restaurants. Sie bezeichnen auch die Anlegestelle der städtischen HADAG-Fähren, die mit Nahverkehrstickets genutzt werden können, sowie die Abfahrtsorte der zahlreichen Barkassen, Ausflugs- und Shuttleschiffe zu den Musicals „König der Löwen“ und „Das Wunder von Bern“.

In der Saison legt hier ebenfalls der Katamaran nach Helgoland an. Das imposante Abfertigungsgebäude der St. Pauli Landungsbrücken aus dem Jahr 1909 wurde aus Tuffstein errichtet und steht heute unter Denkmalschutz. Es beherbergt beliebte Restaurants wie das Blockbräu und das Hard Rock Café, Dachterrassen und Souvenierläden. Markantes Zeichen des 205 Meter langen Komplexes ist der Pegelturm, der neben der Uhrzeit auch den Wasserstand anzeigt.

Am westlichen Ende der Landungsbrücken liegt der Eingang zum Alten Elbtunnel. Das technische Denkmal stammt aus dem Jahr 1911 und führt über 426,5 Meter unter dem Fluss zum anderen Elbufer nach Steinwerder. Der Alte Elbtunnel ist für Fußgänger und Radfahrer durchgehend geöffnet und kann gegen Gebühr auch mit dem Pkw befahren werden. Viele Werftarbeiter von Blohm + Voss nutzen ihn heute wie damals als Arbeitsweg. Er diente auch schon als Location für Veranstaltungen und Präsentationen.

Alster

Die Alster entspringt nördlich von Hamburg in Henstedt-Ulzburg als mehr oder weniger unscheinbarer Flusslauf. Bereits im Mittelalter staute man das Gewässer auf, um die Wasserkraft für den Betrieb von Mühlen zu nutzen. Der so entstandene Teich wurde im 17. Jahrhundert durch die Errichtung von Wallanlagen in die Binnen- und Außenalster getrennt. Die beiden Seen mit ihren grünen Ufern, kleinen Fleeten, Kanälen und Villen prägen heute die Stadt und bilden einen reizvollen Rahmen für Freizeit und Erholung.

Eine Besonderheit sind die mehr als hundert Alsterschwäne, die durch städtische Fürsorge ein eigenes Winterquartier haben. Mit 164 Hektar ist die Außenalster ein beliebtes Revier für Segler, Ruderer und Kanuten. Rundherum finden sich Hotels, Restaurants und Locations mit direktem Blick auf das Wasser. Für Gruppen gibt es zahlreiche Incentive-Möglichkeiten – vom Drachenbootfahren bis zur Alsterkreuzfahrt. Zur Flotte der Alsterdampfer gehören historische Oldtimer, aber auch ganz moderne Fahrzeuge wie ein Solarschiff und das weltweit erste Ausflugsschiff mit emissionsfreiem Wasserstoffantrieb.

Elbe

Die Elbe ist seit jeher Lebensader und Hauptverkehrsweg für Hamburg. Sie schafft einen direkten Zugang zur etwa 100 Kilometer entfernten Nordsee und bildet die Grundlage für die Entwicklung des Hafens. Im Rhythmus von Ebbe und Flut laufen riesige Containerschiffe Hamburg an und bringen Waren aus Übersee, von denen ein Großteil per Zubringerschiff, Bahn oder Lkw nach Mitteleuropa, Skandinavien und bis ins Baltikum verteilt werden. Das geschäftige Treiben auf den Umschlagterminals können Hamburg-Besucher am besten bei einer klassischen Hafenrundfahrt oder einer Bustour erleben.

Alternativ lohnt sich ein Ausflug mit den HADAG-Fähren, vorbei an den St. Pauli Landungsbrücken, der Fischauktionshalle und dem Museumshafen Oevelgönne bis nach Teufelsbrück, wo die Elbchaussee entlangläuft und der Jenischpark zum Spazierengehen einlädt. Zahlreiche Beach Clubs verwandeln im Sommer das Elbufer in eine Freiluftlocation mit Urlaubs- und Strandfeeling. Am und auf dem Wasser bieten sich zudem für Veranstaltungsplaner eine Fülle von Optionen für unvergessliche Events mit typisch Hamburger Flair.

Museumsschiffe

Schon weithin sichtbar grüßen mit der Dreimastbark „Rickmer Rickmers“ und dem Stückgutfrachter „Cap San Diego“ zwei große Veteranen der Schifffahrt an der Überseebrücke die Gäste. Mit ihrem schlanken grünen Bug und der hohen Takelage ist die 1896 in Bremerhaven gebaute „Rickmer Rickmers“ eine Erscheinung aus der Zeit, als noch schnittige Windjammer die Meere durchquerten, um Reis aus Hongkong oder Salpeter aus Chile zu holen. Heute ist das Schiff mit seinem Bordrestaurant und wechselnden Ausstellungen Museum und Veranstaltungslocation. Wagemutige Abenteuerer können im Team hoch in die Masten klettern oder in kleinen Gruppen beim Rätselspiel „Hidden in Hamburg“ etwas über hanseatische Geschichte lernen.

Auch die „Cap San Diego“ hat einen bordeigenen Hochseilgarten. Wer ihn erklimmt, schwebt rund 30 Meter über dem Wasserspiegel. Der 1961 gebaute Frachter gehörte ursprünglich zu einer Serie von sechs Schiffen der Reederei Hamburg Süd, die wegen ihrer eleganten Rumpfform berühmt waren. Es ist das größte noch in Fahrt befindliche Museumsschiff der Welt und kann auch für Charterfahrten gebucht werden. Die Schiffsluken, der Salon und das Pool Deck stehen für Meetings, Empfänge und Feiern zur Verfügung. Noch älter als die „Cap San Diego“ ist die 1958 gebaute MS „Bleichen“, die neben dem Hafenmuseum am Bremerkai im Hansahafen liegt. Wer an Bord feiern möchte oder eine exklusive Ausfahrt plant, findet im Traditionsschiffhafen in der HafenCity und im Museumshafen Oevelgönne eine ganze Flotte historischer Schiffe. Darunter auch welche, die noch mit Dampf betrieben werden, wie die „Scharhörn“ und der Eisbrecher „Stettin“.

Auswanderermuseum Ballinstadt

Dem Thema Auswanderungist mit der Ballinstadt ein eigenes Museum gewidmet. Es entstand genau dort, wo Albert Ballin, Generaldirektor der Reederei Hapag, 1901 die Auswandererhallen errichten ließ. Von 1834 bis 1920 verließen rund fünf Millionen Menschen aus Europa ihre Heimat über Hamburg, um im fernen Amerika ihr Glück zu suchen. Die Auswandererwelle war für die Schiffseigener ein lukratives Geschäft. Es brachte aber auch Probleme durch eingeschleppte Krankheiten mit sich, die sich durch die harten Bedingungen an Bord schnell ausbreiten konnten.

Die Hallen waren daher eine Art moderne Quarantäne-Station und dienten zugleich der Sicherheit der Passagiere, die nicht selten vor ihrer Abfahrt von Betrügern um ihre Habseligkeiten gebracht wurden. Das Museum zeigt in sieben Kapiteln, welche Strapazen die Menschen bei der Überfahrt auf sich nehmen mussten.

Es beherbergt außerdem ein Familienforschungszentrum, das die interaktive Suche nach ausgewanderten Familienmitgliedern ermöglicht. Die weitläufigen Hallen bieten darüber hinaus Raum für Veranstaltungen mit bis zu 400 Personen. Für die Anreise zum Museum auf der Veddel kann der Barkassenshuttle der Maritime Circle Line genutzt werden, der von den Landungsbrücken 10 abgeht.

Fotos: Michael Zapf / Architekten Herzog & de Meuron*, Sven Schwarze*, Jörg Modrow*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, panthermedia.net / Carl-Jürgen Bautsch, Christian O. Bruch*, Christian Spahrbier*, Elbe & Flut – Thomas Hampel*, Elbe & Flut – Thomas Hampel*, Sven Schwarze*, Iris Herzog*, Christian Spahrbier*, Roberto Kai Hegeler*, Christian Spahrbier*, Jörg Modrow*, Christian Spahrbier*, Andreas Vallbracht*, Sven Schwarze*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, Michael Zapf*, St. Wallocha*, Andreas Vallbracht*, Jörg Modrow*, Christian Spahrbier*, Sven Schwarze*, Sven Schwarze*, Christian Spahrbier*, Kai Uwe Gundlach*, Roberto Kai Hegeler*, Andreas Vallbracht*, Christian Spahrbier*, Christian Spahrbier*, bis Media*,  Christian Spahrbier* | *www.mediaserver.hamburg.de