Hamburg in high demand: more than 15,000 preregistered attendees for 2019 Rotary International Convention

Hamburg, 3 July 2018 – The Rotary International Convention, one of the world’s most prestigious international congresses, is taking place in Hamburg from 1 to 5 June 2019. And while the conference has been open for registration for only a few days, more than 15,000 members have signed up already.

This year’s Rotary International Convention was held from 23 to 27 June in Toronto, Canada. A large delegation involving members of Hamburg’s Host Organization Committee (HOC) joined the event in Canada to promote next year’s conference in Hamburg. As the opening of the 2018 conference also marked the opening of online registration for 2019, the designated host city was allowed to present itself at the conference. As a result, more than 15,000 Rotarians took the opportunity to register during the Toronto event. This number is much higher than expected and certainly provides a positive outlook for the 2019 Rotary International Convention.

Michael Otremba, managing director of the Hamburg Convention Bureau (HCB) is thrilled with the strong interest in Hamburg: “More than 15,000 registrations within the first few days is a great interim result. We initially expected some 25,000 Rotarians to sign up for the 2019 conference in Hamburg. I am very excited to see that even one year ahead of the event there is a very pronounced interest among our international audience. This is fabulous, and it fills me with confidence that we might even exceed our ambitious target with regard to participant numbers. The Rotary International Convention is an event at a Champions League level that will attract international attention to Hamburg as a destination and an event location.”

A large-scale visualisation of the Elbphilharmonie and other impressive picture material from Hamburg transformed the exhibition stand in Toronto into a highly distinctive eye-catcher. Andreas von Möller and Holger Knaack, co-chairs of the HOC, as well as 70 other German Rotarians, were at the event to represent Hamburg’s host committee. “The atmosphere on site was characterised by the international Rotarians’ anticipation and enthusiasm for Hamburg. We really look forward to 2019,” they said.

The HCB and the representatives of the local Rotary District laid the foundations for Hamburg’s winning bid – through close cooperation, systematic preparations, professional organisation as well as personal support during the inspection visit of the Rotary delegation, which comprised several Rotarians from different countries. Following an 18-month application period, the decision for Hamburg was made in June 2015. Rotary conventions are attended by Rotarians and guests from some 180 countries. The conventions bring together people who share the same values and who collaborate on service projects aimed at improving the world as a whole.

To learn more about the Rotary International Convention 2019 and to access the registration form for Rotarians, please visit https://ric2019.rotary.de/de/

The Hamburg Convention Bureau (HCB) 

As a direct subsidiary of Hamburg Marketing GmbH, the Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB) combines locational expertise with a broad spectrum of industry-specific knowledge, ranging from B2B meetings, conferences and conventions to large-scale public events. HCB is in charge of marketing Hamburg globally as a congress and conventions location and strengthening Hamburg’s profile internationally via highly visible public events.

Michel Molenda
Head of Corporate Communications & PR
Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH
Wexstrasse 7
D-20355 Hamburg

T: +49 40 – 300 51 653
M: +49 173 – 900 6586
F: +49 40 – 300 51 618
E-mail: michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
URL: www.hamburg-convention.com

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Head of Corporate Communications

michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Pressemitteilung

Information about the Media Server Hamburg Marketing GmbH

Hamburg überzeugt – mehr als 15.000 Voranmeldungen für die Rotary International Convention 2019

Hamburg, 3. Juli 2018 – Die Rotary International Convention gilt als eine der renommiertesten und internationalsten Kongresse weltweit und findet vom 1. bis 5. Juni 2019 in Hamburg statt. Die Veranstaltung in der Hansestadt kann bereits wenige Tage nach Anmeldungsstart eine Rekordzahl von mehr als 15.000 Voranmeldungen verzeichnen.

Die diesjährige Rotary International Convention hat vom 23. bis 27. Juni in Toronto, Kanada, stattgefunden. Eine große Delegation rund um das Hamburger Host Organization Committee (HOC) ist nach Kanada gereist, um dort kräftig die Werbetrommel für Hamburg zu rühren. Mit dem Beginn der diesjährigen Weltkonferenz, auf der die Stadt Hamburg für seine Veranstaltung im kommenden Jahr werben durfte, war zugleich auch der Startschuss für die Online-Anmeldung zur Rotary International Convention 2019. Über 15.000 Voranmeldungen konnte Hamburg während des Kongresses in Toronto verzeichnen. Dieser Wert hat die Erwartungen weit übertroffen und gibt einen positiven Ausblick auf die Weltkonferenz im kommenden Jahr.

Michael Otremba, Geschäftsführer der Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB), ist begeistert von dem starken Interesse an Hamburg: „Mehr als 15.000 Voranmeldungen in den ersten Tagen sind ein herausragendes Zwischenergebnis. Wir haben anfänglich mit rund 25.000 Rotariern gerechnet, die Hamburg 2019 besuchen. Dass das Interesse an unserer Stadt beim internationalen Publikum schon ein Jahr vorher so hoch ist, freut mich sehr und stimmt mich zuversichtlich, dass wir unsere ambitionierte Zielsetzung zu den Teilnehmerzahlen vielleicht sogar noch übertreffen können. Die Rotary International Convention ist eine Veranstaltung auf Champions League Niveau und wird Hamburg als Stadt und als Meetingstandort international in den Fokus rücken.“

Eine großflächige Visualisierung der Elbphilharmonie und weitere beeindruckende Hamburg-Bilder haben den Messestand in Toronto in einen Eyecatcher mit Wiedererkennungswert verwandelt. Andreas von Möller sowie Holger Knaack waren als Co-Chairmen des HOC zusammen mit 70 weiteren Rotariern aus Deutschland als Repräsentanten des Gastgeber-Komitees selbst vor Ort: „Die Stimmung vor Ort war gekennzeichnet von Vorfreude sowie Begeisterung der internationalen Rotarier für Hamburg. Wir freuen uns auf 2019.“

Das HCB und die Vertreter des hiesigen Rotary Distrikts haben durch intensive Zusammenarbeit, koordinierte Vorbereitung, professionelle Organisation und persönliche Betreuung der Inspektionsreise einer mehrköpfigen, internationalen Rotary-Delegation den Grundstein für den Zuschlag zugunsten Hamburgs gelegt. Nach einer rund 18-monatigen Bewerbungsphase fiel die Entscheidung für Hamburgs bereits im Juni 2015. Besucher der Veranstaltung sind Rotarier und Gäste aus ca. 180 verschiedenen Ländern. Auf der Convention begegnen sich Teilnehmer, die dieselben Werte verbindet und aus denen eine Zusammenarbeit an Service Projekten zur Verbesserung der Welt entsteht.

Weitere Informationen zur Rotary International Convention 2019 und die Anmeldemaske für Rotarierfinden Sie hier: https://ric2019.rotary.de/de/

Das Hamburg Convention Bureau

Als direkte Tochter der Hamburg Marketing GmbH vereinigt die Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB) Standortkompetenz mit einem breiten Spektrum an Expertise von B2B-Veranstaltungen, wie Kongresse und Tagungen, bis hin zu Großveranstaltungen im öffentlichen Raum. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehört sowohl die weltweite Vermarktung des Kongress- und Tagungsstandorts Hamburg als auch die internationale Stärkung des Profils der Elbmetropole über bildstarke Publikums-Events.

Michel Molenda

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation & PR
Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH
Wexstraße 7
20355 Hamburg

Tel: +49 (0) 40 – 300 51 653
Mobil: +49 (0) 173 – 900 6586
Fax: +49 (0) 40 – 300 51 618
Mail: michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
URL: www.hamburg-convention.com

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation & PR

michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Pressemitteilung

Informationen zum Mediaserver der Hamburg Marketing GmbH