Yes ICANN: Hamburg to host 2020 annual meeting of Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Hamburg, 27 June 2018 – In 2020, Germany could provide the setting for important decisions on core functions of the internet as the City of Hamburg, together with the eco – Association of the Internet Industry e. V. and Denic eG, has been chosen as the host for the 69th meeting of ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) from 17 to 23 October 2020. This was decided at the recent ICANN 62 Policy Forum in Panama City.

Established in 1998, ICANN is the non-profit organisation in charge of globally coordinating names and parameters to facilitate the functioning and further development of the internet. For the internet to work, domain names and IP addresses around the world have to be unique. The main task of ICANN is to coordinate these unique identifiers in cooperation with the global internet community so as to ensure that a user who enters e.g. www.polizei.hamburg into the browser line will reliably reach the website of the Hamburg police authorities. As part of its role, ICANN coordinates important domain extensions, such as .com, co.uk and .de. For some years now ICANN has also been enabling local domain extensions such as .hamburg. The City of Hamburg actively supported the registration of the .hamburg extension. As a result, it has been possible to register .hamburg domains ever since 2014.

Hamburg’s successful bid demonstrates that strong networks and a united stance of key players from the realms of business, science and tourism constitute an integral component within the meetings and events sector. Other winning factors included the targeted coordination displayed by Hamburg’s Ministry for Economic Affairs, Transport and Innovation, the eco – Association of the Internet Industry e. V. as well as Denic eG and the CCH – Congress Center Hamburg. The fact that Hamburg’s bid had a very clear focus on highlighting the city’s greatest assets certainly contributed to the decision on behalf of Hamburg.

Senator Frank Horch commented:“Hamburg is a media and technology centre, and the internet plays an important and ever increasing role in this area. Therefore, I am delighted that Hamburg will be hosting the 2020 ICANN conference. Hamburg provides ideal conditions, with the CCH in the very heart of the city and the Hamburg Convention Bureau as an experienced partner for international conventions.”

Oliver Süme,solicitor and chair of the board at eco added: “Following the Berlin conference in 1999, it will be the first time in 20 years for an ICANN conference to take place in Germany. With eco, Denic and the City of Hamburg, three strong stakeholders have joined forces to make this event happen.”

The Hamburg Convention Bureau (HCB) 

As a direct subsidiary of Hamburg Marketing GmbH, the Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB) combines locational expertise with a broad spectrum of industry-specific knowledge, ranging from B2B meetings, conferences and conventions to large-scale public events. HCB is in charge of marketing Hamburg globally as a congress and conventions location and strengthening Hamburg’s profile internationally via highly visible public events.

Michel Molenda
Head of Corporate Communications & PR
Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH
Wexstrasse 7
D-20355 Hamburg

T: +49 40 – 300 51 653
M: +49 173 – 900 6586
F: +49 40 – 300 51 618
E-mail: michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
URL: www.hamburg-convention.com

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Head of Corporate Communications

michel.molenda@hamburg-tourismus.de
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Pressemitteilung

Information about the Media Server Hamburg Marketing GmbH

Hamburg kann ICANN

Jahresversammlung der Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers findet 2020 in Hamburg statt

Hamburg, 27. Juni 2018 – Wichtige Entscheidungen zu Kernfunktionen des Internet könnten 2020 in Deutschland fallen: eco – Verband der Internetwirtschaft e. V. und Denic eG werden vom 17. bis 23. Oktober 2020 gemeinsam mit der Stadt Hamburg als Gastgeber das 69. Meeting der ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) ausrichten. Die Entscheidung für Hamburg fiel jetzt beim ICANN 62 Policy Forum in Panama.

Die ICANN ist eine Non-Profit Organisation die für die weltweite Koordinierung von Namen und Parametern für das Funktionieren und die Weiterentwicklung des Internet zuständig ist. Damit das Internet funktioniert, müssen Domain-Namen und IP-Adressen weltweit eindeutig sein. Zentrale Aufgabe der 1998 gegründeten ICANN ist es, dies in Zusammenarbeit mit der weltweiten Internetgemeinschaft sicherstellen, so dass die Nutzer überall auf der Welt beispielsweise www.polizei.hamburg in die Browserzeile eingeben können und anschließend zuverlässig auch die Internetseite der Hamburger Polizei erreichen. Sie ist zuständig für die Koordination der wichtigen Domainendungen, wie z.B. .com, .uk aber auch der deutschen Endung .de. Seit einigen Jahren ermöglicht die ICANN zudem lokale Domainendungen wie z.B. .hamburg. Die Stadt Hamburg hat die Registrierung von .hamburg aktiv unterstützt. Internetadressen unter der Endung .hamburg können seit 2014 registriert werden.

Die erfolgreiche Bewerbung ist auch ein Beleg dafür, dass starke Netzwerke und ein geschlossenes Auftreten der Leistungsträger in Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Tourismusbranche einen wichtigen Baustein im Sektor Tagungen und Kongresse darstellen. Das koordinierte und fokussierte Agieren von der Behörde für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Innovation, dem eco – Verband der Internetwirtschaft e. V., der Denic eG, dem CCH – Congress Center Hamburg und dem Hamburg Convention Bureau, sowie die klare Fokussierung auf die Stärken der Stadt waren weitere Pluspunkte bei der Entscheidung zugunsten Hamburgs.

Senator Frank Horch: „Hamburg ist ein Medien- und Technologiestandort. Das Internet spielt in diesem Bereich eine stetig wachsende, wichtige Rolle. Ich freue mich darum sehr, dass Hamburg Gastgeber Welt-Internetorganisation ICANN 2020 sein wird. Hamburg bietet mit dem CCH in der Innenstadt ideale Rahmenbedingungen – und mit dem Hamburg Convention Bureau einen erfahrenen Partner für eine solche internationale Konferenz.

„Nach Berlin 1999 holen wir zum ersten Mal seit 20 Jahren wieder eine ICANN-Konferenz nach Deutschland“, sagt Oliver Süme, Hamburger Rechtsanwalt und Vorstandsvorsitzender des eco – Verband der Internetwirtschaft e.V.. „Mit eco, Denic und der Stadt Hamburg haben sich starke Partner aus Wirtschaft und Politik zusammengetan, um dieses Ziel Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen.“

Das Hamburg Convention Bureau

Als direkte Tochter der Hamburg Marketing GmbH vereinigt die Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (HCB) Standortkompetenz mit einem breiten Spektrum an Expertise von B2B-Veranstaltungen, wie Kongresse und Tagungen, bis hin zu Großveranstaltungen im öffentlichen Raum. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehört sowohl die weltweite Vermarktung des Kongress- und Tagungsstandorts Hamburg als auch die internationale Stärkung des Profils der Elbmetropole über bildstarke Publikums-Events.

Michel Molenda

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation & PR
Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH
Wexstraße 7
20355 Hamburg

Tel: +49 (0) 40 – 300 51 653
Mobil: +49 (0) 173 – 900 6586
Fax: +49 (0) 40 – 300 51 618
Mail: michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
URL: www.hamburg-convention.com

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation & PR

michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Pressemitteilung

Informationen zum Mediaserver der Hamburg Marketing GmbH