Hamburg Provides Magnetic Stage for the 2017 OMR Festival

The name of the event kind of says it all – Online Marketing Rock Stars Festival Hamburg (aka OMR) … cool.

What wouldn’t be “wow” about a meeting that gathers some of the most creative, wired global minds to jam on ideas about what’s hot and what’s not in online and social media marketing? Oh yeah and then there’s the fact that it is a festival. Now add in the media-company-rich and hip host city of Hamburg and involvement from local business forces like nextMedia.Hamburg – an organization that helps start-ups and innovators in the digital and media space – and you’ve got a winner!
Part networking, part rock concert, part conference, master classes & expo, and part “holy Aftershow Party,” OMR has been held in Hamburg for six years. Over those years it has featured a mash up of headliners the likes of legendary skater Tony Hawk, Buzzfeed founder Jonah Peretti, Pinterest founder Evan Sharp, and Wired founder John Battelle.
In March 2017 27,000 attendees gathered at the Hamburg Messe for OMR to groove with self-made internet mogul Gary Vaynerchuk, Andrew “Boz” Bosworth a famed Facebook developer, and Bruce Dickenson of heavy metal band Iron Maiden … all “backed-up” by the largest video wall in Europe. You could even belly up to a real tattoo artist’s booth and get a lasting momento from the event.

To get a first-hand feel for the buzz of OMR we caught up with OMR organizer and business development manager Ove Niemann and nextMedia.Hamburg’s Veronika Reichboth, project manager and executive interim manager. Here’s what they had to say:

How is OMR different than other conferences? 

OVE OMR A. OMR is a festival. It mixes marketing stars with musicians, and know-how with networking. At OMR you can meet digital leaders that have never spoken in Germany before and acts that sell out arenas. OMR is still, however, a “family” event – it’s from marketing people for marketing people.

In what ways are Hamburg and OMR made for each other? 

Ove, OMR A. Hamburg is a marketing and media city. Most of the leading companies are here. Agencies, advertisers, and platform leaders such as Google and Facebook. The exhibition halls are right in the middle of the city directly next to bars and restaurants. The whole festival integrates perfectly into the city. Many people from different corners of Hamburg actively support OMR …  from companies, to artists, to city organizations.

Why is Hamburg known as such a media  city?

Veronika, nextMedia.Hamburg A.  Hamburg has a really rich media and digital industry city –  the strongest in Germany actually. Besides long-established publishing houses such as Gruner+Jahr, Axel Springer, Spiegel, Die Zeit and dpa, Hamburg is also a major hub in the digital media space. In addition to Google and Facebook, Twitter and Yelp are also some of the global enterprises that call Hamburg home . Many highly successful startups such as Xing, Jimdo, myTaxi, and Stuffle also live in Hamburg. We even have the nickname of Gamecity due to our hot gaming company scene.

What is the vibe at OMR? 

Ove, OMR  A.We can’t exactly explain the vibe. It’s probably not like anything else you have ever experienced at an exhibition or conference before. Come and find out!

Can you provide a few examples of how OMR has broken away from more traditional meeting formats, settings or content? 

Ove, OMR A. When you come to Hamburg by plane you can check into OMR at the airport. When you walk into the halls in the morning you are greeted by a Sea Shanty choir. Instead of a coffee break, we have music break with the most successful German rap artists. Many of our guests are driven home or to their hotels in the latest Audi models. In between all this, you listen to global icons that you have never met before. We also discover up and comers that you’ll hear from in the future.

What’s next for OMR?

Ove, OMR A. We do new things with the OMR brand every day. We bet big on podcasting. We’re working to establish a digital directory for all the companies who are involved in the digital marketing industry. We started OMR moving images and publish on You Tube every other week.

We heard you could get a tattoo at this year’s festival did you get one?

Veronika, nextMedia.Hamburg A. No I didn’t get a tattoo but I think OMR is truly fantastic and very exciting … and the after party was amazing!

If you also want to organize an unforgettable event in Hamburg, feel free to contact us!

Florian Gerdes

Florian Gerdes

Marketing Manager Conventions
Focus: UK, USA & China

florian.gerdes@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-652

      

Nina Alswede

Nina Alswede

Marketing Manager Conventions
Focus: Renewable Energies, Smart City, Creative Industries, Media & IT

nina.alswede@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-656

      

In Cooperation with the German Convention Bureau e.V.

Hamburg als glamouröse Bühne für das OMR-Festival 2017

Online Marketing Rockstars Festival (OMR): Der Name ist Programm

Beim OMR kommen einige der kreativsten Köpfe der Welt zusammen, um die neuesten Trends und Entwicklungen im Bereich Online-Marketing und Social Media zu zeigen, sich auszutauschen und zu feiern. Das Festival der Online-Avantgarde findet in der hippen Medienmetropole Hamburg statt – mit regionalen Playern wie nextMedia.Hamburg, einer Initiative, die Startups und innovative Unternehmen aus der Welt der digitalen Medien unterstützt. Ein Konzept, das Erfolge feiert.

Zum sechsten Mal in Folge bot das OMR-Festival in Hamburg einen einzigartigen Mix aus Networking, Rockkonzert, Konferenz, Masterclasses und Branchenmesse – und nicht zu vergessen die legendäre Aftershow-Party. Im Laufe der Jahre haben sich hier schon diverse Top-Player die Klinke in die Hand gegeben: von Skaterlegende Tony Hawk über Buzzfeed-Gründer Jonah Peretti, Pinterest-Gründer Evan Sharp bis hin zu Wired-Gründer John Batelle.

Beim diesjährigen OMR im März 2017 kamen 27.000 Teilnehmer in die Hamburger Messehallen, um sich vor Europas größter Video-Wall unter anderem von Selfmade-Internetmogul Gary Vaynerchuk, Facebook-Entwickler Andrew Bosworth oder Bruce Dickinson von der Metal-Band Iron Maiden inspirieren zu lassen. Und wer einen wahrhaft bleibenden Eindruck vom Event haben wollte, der konnte sich vor Ort sogar von einem professionellen Tattoo-Künstler verzieren lassen.

Um zu verstehen, was das OMR-Festival so einzigartig macht, haben wir mit Ove Niemann, Veranstalter und Business Developer von Online Marketing Rockstars, und Veronika Reichboth, Projektmanagerin und Executive Interim Manager bei nextMedia.Hamburg, gesprochen.

Worin unterscheidet sich OMR von anderen Konferenzen?

Ove Niemann: OMR ist ein Festival. Es bietet einen Mix aus Marketing-Entscheidern, Musikern, Infoveranstaltungen und Networking. Beim OMR kann man Digital Leaders erleben, die noch nie zuvor in Deutschland aufgetreten sind – oder auch Bands, die in ausverkauften Stadien spielen. Trotz alledem ist OMR aber ein familiäres Event geblieben – von Marketingleuten für Marketingleute.

Was glaubst Du, warum Hamburg und OMR so gut zusammenpassen?

Ove Niemann: Hamburg ist eine Marketing- und Medienstadt. Viele führende Unternehmen haben hier ihren Sitz: Agenturen, Werbetreibende und Branchengrößen wie Google und Facebook. Die Messehallen liegen mitten in der Stadt und es gibt viele Bars und Restaurants in unmittelbarer Nähe. Das Festival reiht sich praktisch nahtlos in das Stadtleben ein. Eine ganze Reihe von Akteuren aus allen Ecken der Stadt unterstützen OMR aktiv – von Unternehmen und Künstlern bis hin zu städtischen Gesellschaften.

Worauf gründet sich Hamburgs Ruf als Medienmetropole?

Veronika Reichboth: Hamburg hat eine unheimlich große Bandbreite an Medien- und IT-Unternehmen und gilt als Deutschlands Medienstandort Nummer 1. Neben etablierten Verlagen wie Gruner + Jahr, Axel Springer, Der Spiegel, Die Zeit und dpa ist Hamburg auch im Bereich der digitalen Medien führend. Neben Twitter und Yelp sind auch Global Player wie Google oder Facebook in Hamburg zu Hause. Und auch viele erfolgreiche Startups wie Xing, Jimdo, myTaxi oder Stuffle haben ihren Sitz in Hamburg. Wegen unserer starken Gaming-Szene haben wir sogar den Spitznamen „Game City“.

Warum gibt es so einen Hype um das OMR-Festival?

Ove Niemann: So genau wissen wir das auch nicht. Wahrscheinlich liegt es daran, dass das Format einfach vollkommen anders als alle Branchentreffen oder Konferenzen ist, die man sonst so besucht hat. Am besten kommt man vorbei und bildet sich seine eigene Meinung!

Kannst Du uns ein paar Beispiele nennen, inwiefern OMR sich über klassische Formate, Settings oder Inhalte hinwegsetzt?

Ove Niemann: Wenn man mit dem Flugzeug nach Hamburg kommt, kann man direkt am Flughafen für das Event einchecken. Wenn man morgens in die Messehallen spaziert, wird man von einem Shanty-Chor begrüßt. Statt Kaffeepausen machen wir Musikpausen mit einigen der erfolgreichsten deutschen Rap-Künstler. Viele unserer Gäste fahren in den neuesten Audi-Modellen nach Hause oder in ihre Hotels. Und dazwischen hat man die Möglichkeit, globale Pioniere der Branche live zu erleben. Und auch den Entscheidern von morgen bieten wir eine Plattform.

Was steht für OMR als nächstes auf dem Programm?

Ove Niemann: Wir entwickeln die Marke OMR jeden Tag ein bisschen weiter. Und wir setzen zurzeit sehr stark auf Podcasts. Außerdem arbeiten wir daran, ein Online-Verzeichnis aller Unternehmen im Bereich Digital Marketing zusammenzustellen. Wir haben OMR Moving Images neu eingeführt und veröffentlichen alle zwei Wochen neue Inhalte auf YouTube.

Wir haben gehört, dass man sich beim diesjährigen Event ein Tattoo stechen lassen konnte. Hast Du das gemacht?

Veronika Reichboth: Nein, habe ich nicht. Aber ich finde, OMR ist ein superspannendes Format … und die Aftershow-Party war wirklich legendär.

Wenn auch Sie ein unvergessliches Event in Hamburg veranstalten möchten, melden Sie sich gern bei uns!

Florian Gerdes

Florian Gerdes

Marketing Manager Conventions
Fokus: UK, USA & China

florian.gerdes@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-652

      

Nina Alswede

Nina Alswede

Marketing Managerin Conventions
Fokus: Kreativwirtschaft, Medien & IT

nina.alswede@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-656

      

In Kooperation mit dem German Convention Bureau e.V.