Easy access through fast, direct connections

Whichever direction you are coming from, and however you are getting here, Hamburg is easily accessible by air, rail and road, and even by ferry via the Lübeck-Travemünde Baltic Sea port. Hamburg has always placed great emphasis on providing excellent transport links and continues to invest in developing regional infrastructure. The best example of this is Hamburg Airport in Hamburg-Fuhlsbüttel with a history that spans more than 100 years. The fact that Hamburg Airport was Germany’s first airport certainly reflects the pioneering spirit of Hamburg’s locals.

The place where it all began with an airship hangar for two Zeppelins in 1911 is today home to two state-of-the-art terminals with dispatch facilities for 53 aircrafts. The airport is the result of a gigantic development programme that cost around 350 million euro and was completed in 2010. The airport’s infrastructure includes 108 check-in counters, 67 restaurants, a dental surgery, separate conference rooms, as well as a 6,000 square metre events hall. VIP and limousine services are of course also available.

Arriving by plane

60 airlines fly direct from Hamburg to 120 destinations around the world. Between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., an average of 420 aircrafts take off and land at Hamburg Airport every day, and more than 15 million passengers pass through Hamburg Airport every year. The airport is situated only 8.5 kilometres from Hamburg’s city centre and is connected to the city’s comprehensive public transport network via S-Bahn.

Arriving by car

Mobility has always played a major role in the region, and Hamburg is embedded in a close-knit network of state roads. Germany’s longest motorway, the A7, runs from north to south, while the A1 runs from the Baltic Sea to the Saarland region, and Hamburg is connected to Berlin via the A24 and to Schleswig-Holstein via the A23. In the coming years, the motorway network in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region will be further expanded to the tune of some 2.5 billion euro.

Arriving by rail

Hamburg is also easily accessible for all those arriving by train from other parts of Germany or Europe, and Berlin is less than two hours away by rail. The city alone has four long-distance train stations. Hamburg’s main rail hub is the central train station, which was opened in 1906. Anyone organising a meeting or a congress in Hamburg can benefit from Deutsche Bahn’s Veranstaltungsticket, which offers the best value for money to congress participants.

Local public transport: getting around Hamburg by bus, S-Bahn and port ferry

In Hamburg you can get around the city very easily without a car – thanks to the city’s comprehensive local public transport network that even includes water travel. Six S-Bahn lines, four underground lines and numerous bus connections ensure excellent transport links even beyond the city boundaries. In addition to local public transport, the surrounding region can also be accessed via national railway links.

The HVV KombiTicket for meetings, conventions and seminars allows participants to comfortably commute between their event location and their hotel at reasonable rates – and to include a short boat trip with one of the HADAG port ferries. Another option is the Hamburg CARD, which not only provides free travel by bus, S-Bahn and port ferry, but also reduced admission to more than 150 tourist attractions.

HVV KombiTicket for congress participants

Offered by the Hamburg Convention Bureau and the Hamburg Transport Association (HVV), the HVV KombiTicket for meetings, conventions and seminars is available for events with 250 or more participants. It offers participants free travel within Hamburg’s local public transport network and is valid in the entire area covered by HVV (tariff rings ABCDE). As part of this offer, event organisers are obliged to issue a HVV travel permission to all participants for the duration of their stay. This takes the form of a conference badge that incorporates a HVV KombiTicket stamp stating the relevant dates. To learn more, please feel free to contact us.

The Hamburg CARD for groups – simplified booking options for the Hamburg CARD

For conferences and events with a lower number of participants you can benefit from the Hamburg CARD, which is available as an online/mobile ticket. The Hamburg CARD provides free travel by bus, S-Bahn and port ferry as well as a 50% discount at more than 150 tourist attractions – from museums and guided tours to boat trips on the Elbe and the Alster. There are two commissionable booking options for groups:
1. If the event organiser wishes to include the Hamburg CARD in the event, the booking will be processed based on numbers and booking codes.
2. Alternatively, event participants can book their own Hamburg CARD via a special link.
More information can be found here.

Photos: Christian Spahrbier*, Michael Penner*, Roberto Kai Hegeler*, Christian Spahrbier* | *www.mediaserver-hamburg.de

Einfach ankommen – Schnelle und direkte Verbindungen

Egal aus welcher Richtung und wie Sie anreisen, Hamburg ist per Flugzeug, Bahn oder Auto ideal zu erreichen. Über den Ostseehafen Lübeck-Travemünde sogar per Fähre. Auf gute Verbindungen hat die Hansestadt schon immer Wert gelegt. Entsprechend wurde in den Ausbau der Infrastruktur investiert. Bestes Beispiel ist der Airport Hamburg in Fuhlsbüttel, dessen über 100-jährige Geschichte viel über den Pioniergeist der Hanseaten sagt – er war nämlich der erste in Deutschland.

Wo 1911 alles mit einer Luftschiffhalle für zwei Zeppeline begann, stehen heute zwei moderne Terminals mit Abfertigungsanlagen für 53 Flugzeuge gleichzeitig bereit. Dahinter verbirgt sich ein gigantisches Ausbauprogramm, das rund 350 Millionen Euro gekostet hat und 2010 abgeschlossen wurde. Zur Infrastruktur des Flughafens gehören u.a. 108 Check-in-Schalter, 67 Restaurants, eine Zahnarztpraxis, separate Konferenzräume und eine 6000 qm große Eventhalle. VIP-Betreuung und Limousinenservice gibt es selbstverständlich auch vor Ort.

Anreise mit dem Flugzeug

60 Fluggesellschaften verbinden Hamburg im Direktflug mit weltweit 120 Destinationen. Täglich starten und landen in der Zeit von 6 bis 23 Uhr im Schnitt 420 Flugzeuge. Mehr als 15 Millionen Passagiere checken jedes Jahr am Airport Hamburg in Fuhlsbüttel ein oder aus. Dieser liegt übrigens gerade einmal 8,5 km vom Stadtzentrum der Hansestadt entfernt und ist über die S-Bahn an das weitläufige öffentliche Nahverkehrsnetz angebunden.

Anreise mit dem Auto

Mobilität spielt in der Region traditionell eine große Rolle. Hamburg ist eingewoben in ein dichtes Netz von Fernverkehrsstraßen. Als längste Autobahn Deutschlands bildet die A7 die Nord-Süd-Achse, die A1 führt von der Ostsee bis ins Saarland, während Hamburg über die A24 mit Berlin und über die A23 mit Schleswig-Holstein verbunden ist. In den nächsten Jahren wird das Autobahnnetz rund um die Hansestadt für rund 2,5 Milliarden Euro weiter ausgebaut.

Anreise mit der Bahn

Auch für Bahnreisende aus Deutschland und Europa sind die Verbindungen nach Hamburg exzellent. So ist Berlin mit dem Zug schon in weniger als zwei Stunden erreichbar. Die Hansestadt besitzt allein vier Fernbahnhöfe. Zentraler Knotenpunkt ist der 1906 eröffnete Hauptbahnhof. Wer in der Hansestadt einen Kongress oder eine Tagung plant, fährt zudem mit dem Veranstaltungsticket der Deutschen Bahn zu besonders günstigen Konditionen.

Öffentlicher Nahverkehr: Quer durch Hamburg mit Bussen, Bahnen und Fähren

In Hamburg kommt man auch sehr gut ohne Auto ans Ziel. Das öffentliche Nahverkehrsnetz ist auf Straßen und Schienen dicht ausgebaut und reicht sogar bis auf das Wasser. Sechs S-Bahnen, vier U-Bahnlinien, sieben Fährlinien sowie etliche Busverbindungen sorgen für den richtigen Anschluss, auch über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus. Die Region ist über die Bahn mit der Elbmetropole vernetzt.

Mit dem HVV-KombiTicket für Kongresse, Tagungen und Seminare können Teilnehmer zudem bequem und günstig zwischen Veranstaltungsort und Hotel pendeln und z.B. auch die HADAG-Fähren für eine kleine Hafenrundfahrt nutzen. Eine weitere Option ist die Hamburg Card. Sie bietet nicht nur in der Stadt freie Fahrt mit Bussen, Bahnen und Fähren, sondern auch Vergünstigungen bei über 150 touristischen Attraktionen.

HVV-KombiTicket für Kongressteilnehmer

Das HVV-KombiTicket für Kongresse, Tagungen und Seminare ist ein Angebot des Hamburg Convention Bureaus und des Hamburger Verkehrsverbundes für Veranstaltungen ab 250 Teilnehmern. Es bietet den Gästen freie Fahrt im öffentlichen Nahverkehr und gilt im Gesamtbereich des HVV (Ringe ABCDE). Veranstalter haben so die Möglichkeit, alle Teilnehmer während ihres Aufenthaltes mit einer HVV-Fahrtberechtigung auszustatten. Als Medium dient ein Tagungsausweis, in den ein HVV-KombiTicket-Eindruck mit Angabe der Gültigkeit im HVV erfolgt. Für weitere Informationen, sprechen Sie uns an.

Hamburg Card für Gruppen – Vereinfachte Buchung der Hamburg CARD

Für Tagungen und Events mit geringerer Teilnehmerzahl kann die Hamburg CARD genutzt werden, die als Online-/Handyticket verfügbar ist. Sie bietet kostenfreie Fahrt mit Bussen, Bahnen und Hafenfähren sowie bis zu 50 Prozent Ermäßigung bei über 150 Angeboten – von Museen über Stadtrundgänge bis zu Schiffstouren auf Elbe und Alster. Für die vereinfachte Gruppenbuchung gibt es zwei provisionsfähige Buchungsmöglichkeiten:
1. Will der Veranstalter die Hamburg CARD inkludieren, erfolgt die Abwicklung kontingentiert über Buchungscodes.
2. Alternativ buchen die Teilnehmer auf eigene Rechnung über einen speziellen Link. Weitere Informationen zur Hamburg Card finden Sie hier.

Fotos: Christian Spahrbier*, Michael Penner*, Roberto Kai Hegeler*, Christian Spahrbier* | *www.mediaserver-hamburg.de