Prime locations along the Elbe for successful meetings in Hamburg

Out and about with Saskia, Karin, and Florian at upscale buildings, elegant parks and hip beaches

Prime locations along the Elbe for successful meetings in Hamburg

Out and about with Saskia, Karin, and Florian at upscale buildings, elegant parks and hip beaches

From Hamburg, it’s not a long way to the sea. The journey to it leads along the bank of the Elbe River and abounds with picture-perfect buildings, scenic parks, rolling hills and wide sand beaches. The Elbe metropolis counts among the few major cities in the world in which an atmospheric beach walk or a stylish picnic in the park are always near at hand. The Blankenese neighbourhood, for instance, renowned for its Scandinavian-Mediterranean flair, can be reached from the airport by car within 45 minutes, and the centrally located main railway station is only a 35-minute S-Bahn ride away.

Here, you can slow down exquisitely. Leave the hectic energy of everyday life behind you and follow Saskia, Karin, and Florian on a foray along the bank of the Elbe in the west of the city.

The Elb suburbs: Elegant lifestyle with sandy beaches and views of the harbour

The Elb suburbs: Elegant lifestyle with sandy beaches and views of the harbour

Take in the view of the Elbe as it rushes past us on its way into the North Sea. The nearness of the sea is tangible. Anyone interested in savouring beach life even more intensively can drop anchor here at a beach club at any time of day until late into the night.

Life in the Elbe suburbs is marked by a unique mix of relaxed urbanity and quiet elegance. A whiff of Côte d’Azur hovers in the air. At the same time, we’re also surrounded by lush greenery and vividly coloured flowers.

The parks in and around the former fishing village of Blankanese rank among the most beautiful in the Hanseatic city. They are the heritage of an aristocratic estate replete with opulent country houses and high horticultural art. Several of them can be rented out for events.

Dive into this idyll with us! The best place to do so is the Treppenviertel, named after its famous stairs. Almost 5,000 steps here connect old fisherman’s houses, romantic nineteenth century style villas, and charming hillside gardens. Before we scale them all, though, we need a bit of rest.

Conference days and festive nights with style and award-winning cuisine at the “Süllberg”

The Süllberg hill soars majestically above the Treppenviertel. This hill has leant its name to the hotel that adorns its peak, Germany’s smallest 5-star hotel. We are rewarded for our climb with a breath-taking view. But inside, too, there is much to explore. “Cooking alone was never enough for me,” says host Karlheinz Hauser, who, in addition to the “Süllberg”, also runs a catering company active all over Europe.

The historic building features 9 rooms and 2 suites. Added to that is a wide-ranging array of gastronomic offerings and conference areas with an overall capacity of up to 500 guests. The gourmet restaurant “Seven Seas”, which boasts 2 Michelin stars, offers everything anyone could wish for when it comes to stylish culinary pleasure. Market-fresh modern cuisine is to be had at the “Deck 7 Market Restaurant”. Faithfully restored in its original Jugendstil design, the 400m2 ballroom with its “Transatlantic Bar” makes parties and banquets unforgettable events.

For smaller events, there are two extravagant private dining salons. In the warm seasons, the spectacular terrace landscape, too, entices with its panoramic view. And in the winter season, the Süllberg brings alpine hut magic to Hamburg. From November to March, the “Hauser Alm” opens its wooden gates. Then, in a rustic atmosphere, traditional delicacies from roast chicken to kaiserschmarrn scrambled pancakes are dished out above the rooves of Blankanese.
A best-kept secret for any time of year, by the way, is the brick tower “Süllberg Turm”. After we have bolstered ourselves with a breakfast in the conference room, we climb up to the deck, let our gazes wander over the Elbe landscape, and wish we could stop time for just this magic moment.

Luxury with a view in the Hotel Louis C. Jacob

We return to the shore of the river and stroll upstream to the Elbchaussee, Hamburg’s most famous historic boulevard. One of its most beautiful villas receives us with Hanseatic charm.
This is the tradition-rich Hotel Louis C. Jacob, whose origins trace back to the late 18th century. The Louis C. Jacob company today also owns the “Weinwirtschaft Kleines Jacob” wine bar, also located on the Elbchaussee; “CARLS” across from the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg’s HafenCity; as well as the Barkasse Barkasse MS Jacob.
The Louis C. Jacob was transformed into a modern luxury hotel about 25 years ago by its current owners. In the process, a vintage ice cellar made of brick was discovered that now, with its vaulted ceilings, serves as a special setting for wine tastings and other events.
85 rooms and suites as well as a restaurant with 2 Michelin stars promise exclusive experiences of accommodation and indulgence. The light-flooded conference rooms with views onto the Elbe can accommodate up to 200 participants. We savour the last moments of our visit on the linden terrace, constructed in 1791, which the painter Max Liebermann made world-famous – it inspired two of his most important works. Here, we relax in shady greenery and watch with fascination as the ships go by.
On the opposite bank of the Elbe, we can make out the silhouette of the Airbus plant, which can be visited in the context of incentive programmes. Hamburg is an important international player not only by water but also up in the air. The Hanseatic city ranks among the most important civilian aviation hubs in the world.

Landhaus Flottbek – enjoyment at the hygge pace

We continue our excursion along tree- and bush-lined streets and paths. Slowed down to the fullest, we take a seat at the Landhaus Flottbek. Here, an atmosphere of relaxed high spirits reins. Only 15 minutes from the centre of the city, 25 cosy rooms, an airy conference room and a blooming garden invite you to forget the hustle and bustle of the metropolis. The hotel is perfect for smaller conferences, dinners, and events of all kinds.
At its heart is the brasserie and bar “Hygge,” which can be used for dinners of up to 85 guests and receptions for up to 100. The former polo horse stall, renovated with a love for sophisticated details, houses not only a dining room with a fireplace but also a laid-back lounge.
Its name is also its programme: the Danish word “hygge” is a byword for well-being and comfort in a circle of friends and family. That naturally also includes good food and trendy drinks. Chef de cuisine Thomas Nerlich, nominated by Aral Schlemmeratlas as one of the 50 best chefs in Germany, provides for a variety of seasonal dishes made from regional produce – which he is also happy to serve family-style.
The in-house garden is not only a beautiful place to socialise. Its beehives also bear fruit for those interested in sustainable pleasures. Their honeycombs can be found on the delectable breakfast buffet in the morning.
Up to 40 guests can be entertained at the rustic “Club-House” next door. For mild evenings with BBQ, a terrace with stunning chestnut trees is also on offer. For conferences with up to 40 participants, the Landhaus Flottbek has its own building on reserve. The “Remise” is a modern conference room, whose mix of traditional architecture and state-of-the-art technology makes for a creative ambience.
Our time-out in the Hamburg Elbe suburbs conjured a lively smile to our lips and fresh colour to our faces. We calmly look forward to the bustle of everyday life. Back to business!

Welcome to the Elbe metropolis of Hamburg!

Here, enthusiastic hosts, extraordinary locations and the Hamburg Convention Bureau team await you.

Did we pique your interest? We would love to tell you more about the many opportunities that Hamburg can offer you for conferences, incentive programmes, and events. If you are planning a particular event, we would be happy to advise you and provide you with ideas and contacts. Get in touch! We look forward to meeting you!

Saskia

Florian

Karin

Photos: Christian Spahrbier, KHH Süllberg Betriebsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG, Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Entspannt tagen und feiern im edlen Hamburger Westen

Unterwegs zu exquisiten Locations, eleganten Parks und coolen Stränden

Entspannt tagen und feiern im edlen Hamburger Westen

Unterwegs zu exquisiten Locations, eleganten Parks und coolen Stränden

Von Hamburg ist es nicht weit ans Meer. Der Weg dahin führt entlang des Elbufers und ist reich an schmucken Häusern, malerischen Parks, sanften Hügeln und breiten Sandstränden. Die Elbmetropole zählt zu den wenigen Großstädten weltweit, in denen ein stimmungsvoller Strandspaziergang oder ein stilvolles Picknick im Park immer in kurzer Reichweite ist. Das für sein skandinavisch-mediterranes Flair berühmte Viertel Blankenese etwa ist vom Flughafen in rund 45 Minuten mit dem Auto und vom zentral gelegenen Hauptbahnhof in nur 35 Minuten per S-Bahn erreichbar.

Hier kann man exquisit entschleunigen. Lassen Sie die Hektik des Alltags hinter sich und folgen Sie Saskia, Karin und Florian auf einem Streifzug entlang des Elbufers im Westen der Stadt.

Die Elbvororte: Feine Lebensart mit Sandstrand und Hafenblick

Die Elbvororte: Feine Lebensart mit Sandstrand und Hafenblick

Werfen Sie mit uns einen Blick auf die Elbe, die auf ihrem Weg in die Nordsee an uns vorbeirauscht. Die Nähe zum Meer ist spürbar. Wer das Strandleben noch intensiver auskosten will, kann hier zu jeder Tageszeit und bis spät in die Nacht in einem Beachclub vor Anker gehen.

Das Leben in den Elbvororten ist von einer einzigartigen Mischung aus lockerer Urbanität und stiller Eleganz geprägt. Ein Hauch von Côte d’Azur liegt in der Luft. Gleichzeitig sind wir umgeben von sattem Grün und farbenfroher Blütenpracht.

Die Parks in und um das ehemalige Fischerdorf Blankenese gehören zu den schönsten der Hansestadt. Sie sind das Erbe herrschaftlicher Anwesen mit prächtigen Landhäusern und hoher Gartenkunst. Einige von ihnen können für Veranstaltungen gemietet werden.

Tauchen Sie mit uns ein in diese Idylle! Der beste Ort dafür ist das Treppenviertel. Insgesamt sind es fast 5.000 Stufen, die hier alte Fischerhäuser, romantische Gründerzeitvillen und reizvolle Gärten in Hanglage miteinander verbinden. Bevor wir alle erklimmen brauchen wir aber etwas Erholung.

Tagen und Feiern mit Stil und kulinarischen Highlights auf dem Süllberg

Über dem Treppenviertel thront majestätisch der Süllberg. Nach ihm benannt ist Deutschlands kleinstes 5-Sterne Hotel, das seinen Gipfel ziert. Unser Aufstieg wird mit einem atemberaubenden Ausblick belohnt. Aber auch drinnen gibt es viel zu entdecken. “Kochen allein war mir nie genug,” sagt Gastgeber Karlheinz Hauser, der neben „dem Süllberg“ mit seinem Cateringunternehmen europaweit aktiv ist.

Das geschichtsträchtige Haus verfügt über 9 Zimmer und 2 Suiten. Hinzu kommt ein breit gefächertes Angebot an Gastronomie und Tagungsflächen mit einer Gesamtkapazität von bis zu 500 Gästen. Das mit 2 Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichnete Gourmetrestaurant “Seven Seas” bietet alles, was man sich für einen stilvollen kulinarischen Genuss wünschen kann. Marktfrische moderne Küche gibt es im “Deck 7 Market Restaurant”. Der 400 qm große, originalgetreu im Jugendstil restaurierte Ballsaal mit seiner “Transatlantic Bar” macht Feste und Bankette zu unvergesslichen Ereignissen.

Für kleinere Events gibt es zwei extravagante Private Dining Salons. In der warmen Jahreszeit lockt außerdem die spektakuläre Terrassenlandschaft mit Panoramablick. Und in der Wintersaison holt das Süllberg alpinen Hüttenzauber nach Hamburg. Von November bis März öffnet die “Hauser Alm” ihre hölzerne Pforte. Aufgetischt werden dann in uriger Atmosphäre über den Dächern von Blankenese traditionelle Schmankerl von Backhendl bis Kaiserschmarrn.

Ein Geheimtipp für jede Jahreszeit ist übrigens der backsteinerne Süllberg-Turm. Nachdem wir uns mit einem Frühstück im Tagungsraum gestärkt haben steigen wir hoch zur Aussichtsplattform, lassen den Blick über die Elblandschaften schweifen und würden gern für einen magischen Moment die Zeit anhalten.

Luxus mit Weitblick im Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Wir kehren zurück ans Ufer und spazieren flussaufwärts bis zur Elbchaussee, Hamburgs berühmter historischer Prachtmeile. Eine ihrer schönsten Villen empfängt uns mit hanseatischem Charme.

Es ist das traditionsreiche Hotel Louis C. Jacob, dessen Ursprünge auf das späte 18. Jahrhundert zurückgehen. Zum Unternehmen Louis C. Jacob gehören heute außerdem die ebenfalls an der Elbchaussee gelegene “Weinwirtschaft Kleines Jacob”, das “CARLS” an der Elbphilharmonie in Hamburgs HafenCity sowie die Barkasse MS Jacob.

Das Louis C. Jacob wurde vor rund 25 Jahren von der heutigen Eigentümerfamilie in ein modernes Luxushotel verwandelt. Dabei kam ein uralter Eiskeller aus Backstein zum Vorschein, der mit seinem runden Gewölbe einen besonderen Rahmen für Weinproben und andere Events bildet.
85 Zimmer und Suiten sowie ein Restaurant mit 2 Michelin-Sternen versprechen exklusive Aufenthalts- und Genusserlebnisse. In den lichtdurchfluteten Konferenzräumen mit Blick auf die Elbe finden bis zu 200 Teilnehmer Platz. Wir lassen unseren Besuch auf der im Jahr 1791 angelegten Lindenterrasse ausklingen, die durch den Maler Max Liebermann weltberühmt wurde. Sie hat ihn zu zwei seiner wichtigsten Werke inspiriert. Hier relaxen wir im schattigen Grün und blicken fasziniert den vorbeiziehenden Schiffen hinterher.

Am gegenüberliegenden Elbufer ist die Silhouette des Airbus Werksgeländes zu erkennen, das im Rahmen von Incentives besichtigt werden kann. Hamburg ist nicht nur zu Wasser sondern auch in der Luft ein wichtiger internationaler Player. Die Hansestadt zählt zu den weltweit bedeutendsten Standorten der zivilen Luftfahrt.

Landhaus Flottbek – Genuss im Hygge-Takt

Über von Bäumen und Büschen gesäumte Straßen und Wege setzen wir unseren Ausflug fort. Vollends entschleunigt lassen wir uns im Landhaus Flottbek nieder. Hier herrscht eine Atmosphäre entspannter Lebensfreude. Nur 15 Minuten vom Stadtzentrum entfernt laden 25 gemütliche Zimmer, ein luftiger Tagungsraum sowie ein blühender Garten dazu ein, den Großstadttrubel zu vergessen. Das Haus ist ideal für kleinere Tagungen, Dinner und Events jeder Art.

Sein Herzstück ist die Brasserie und Bar “Hygge”, das für Dinner mit bis zu 85 und Empfänge mit bis zu 100 Personen genutzt werden kann. Der mit Liebe zu hochwertigen Details umgebaute Ehemalige Polo-Pferdestall beherbergt neben einem Speisesaal mit offenem Kamin auch eine lässige Lounge.

Der Name ist Programm: Das dänische Wort “Hygge” steht für Wohlbefinden und Geborgenheit im Kreis von Freunden und Familie. Dazu gehören natürlich auch gutes Essen und coole Drinks. Küchenchef Thomas Nerlich, vom Aral Schlemmeratlas zu einem der 50 besten Küchenchefs Deutschlands nominiert, sorgt für eine Vielfalt saisonaler Gerichte aus regionalen Produkten – gern auch im Family-Style.
Der hauseigene Garten ist nicht nur ein wunderschöner Ort für Geselligkeit. Seine Bienenstöcke werfen auch etwas für den nachhaltigen Genuss ab. Ihre Waben stehen morgens auf dem köstlichen Frühstücksbuffet.
Bis zu 40 Gäste lassen sich im rustikalen “Club-House” nebenan bewirten. Für laue Abende mit BBQ bietet sich außerdem eine Terrasse mit prächtigen Kastanienbäumen an. Für Tagungen mit bis zu 40 Teilnehmern hat das Landhaus Flottbek ein eigenes Gebäude reserviert. Die “Remise” ist ein moderner Konferenzraum, dessen Mix aus traditioneller Architektur und zeitgemäßer Technik ein kreatives Ambiente schafft.
Unsere Auszeit in den Hamburger Elbvororten hat uns ein munteres Lächeln und frische Farbe ins Gesicht gezaubert. Den Geschäften des Alltags sehen wir gelassen entgegen. Back to Business!

Willkommen in der Elbmetropole Hamburg!

Hier erwarten Sie engagierte Gastgeber, außergewöhnliche Locations und das Team des Hamburg Convention Bureau.

Haben wir Sie neugierig gemacht? Sehr gern erzählen wir Ihnen noch mehr über die vielen Möglichkeiten, die Hamburg Ihnen für Tagungen, Incentives und Events bietet. Wenn Sie eine konkrete Veranstaltung planen, beraten wir Sie gern und versorgen Sie mit Ideen und Kontakten. Sprechen Sie uns an! Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Saskia

Florian

Karin

Fotos: Christian Spahrbier, KHH Süllberg Betriebsgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG, Hotel Louis C. Jacob