Focussing on new objectives

We leave nothing to chance. As the HCB’s strategic control centre, we are aiming at long-term objectives and we are setting course for promising markets. To these ends, we are actively engaged in research, we commission studies and we initiate surveys. The success of our work can be measured in numbers: about a quarter of all overnight stays in Hamburg is attributable to convention visitors and business travellers – and these numbers keep rising.

We pursue a cross-departmental approach that is based on corporate transparency. Communication is an essential means of expediting internal processes and of successfully raising our external profile. Via newsletters, press releases, social media channels and personal contacts we provide insights into our work and report on current projects.

We see ourselves as a non-partisan and neutral partner of the event industry. Hamburg-based service providers from all sectors support our work within the framework of our partner programme. Since the establishment of the HCB as a private-public partnership, we have been able to expand our collaborations to the mutual benefit of the HCB and its partners. Collaboration projects include joint presentations at trade fairs as well as diverse options for participating in client events in Germany and abroad.

Our areas of expertise

Strategic expertise

We enhance the HCB’s corporate development and enforce the corporate strategy within the HCB.

Corporate communications

We are in charge of media relations and we ensure targeted, consistent communications across all business units.

Networking and industry expertise

We are the established point of contact for local service providers, and our dedicated team promotes the strategic development of our network to strengthen the local event industry and highlight the industry’s relevance.

Sales cooperation

We are responsible for the strategic sales of participation options, we create new cooperation projects and foster existing ones.

Hamburg brand

We are in charge of the HCB’s brand appearance and of aligning corporate behaviour with the principles of the Hamburg brand.

Market research

Due to our extensive market research activities we have detailed knowledge of the structures within Hamburg’s MICE sector. Moreover, we can provide reliable figures relating to value creation in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region.

Our services for you

Public relations

As the first port of call for media representatives, we can assist with regard to interview requests and provide background information for your reporting. In our press section you can find the latest news on events in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region and on HCB activities. In addition, we publish a periodical newsletter in which we present new locations and report on Hamburg’s MICE industry.

Partner services

We are the first point of contact for the HCB’s partners and for all MICE service providers from the Hamburg Metropolitan Region. We advise and support companies collaborating with us in order to strengthen Hamburg as a premium event location. In our efforts to further enhance the region’s services and products according to market requirements, we develop our partner programme on an ongoing basis. We can find suitable participation options for your business, and we create a framework for successfully presenting your company under the umbrella of the Hamburg brand – also in international markets.

Contact

Kai Dieterich

Kai Dieterich

Head of Strategy and Communications

kai.dieterich@hamburg-tourismus.de
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-613

As head of department, Kai Dieterich is responsible for further developing the corporate strategy of the Hamburg Convention Bureau. This is done in close coordination with the companies belonging to the Hamburg Marketing GmbH holding company at a higher level. In order to successfully position Hamburg as a premium location for congresses and conferences, Kai Dieterich coordinates and optimises the further profiling of destination marketing and the associated operational processes. This also includes the management of corporate communications both internally and externally.

The Strategy & Communication department is also responsible for supporting the HCB partners and for market research and observation. It also supports the conventions divisions in individual areas by exploiting synergies within the company. Kai Dieterich has been a member of the HCB core team since the HCB was founded in 2009 and previously headed strategic and operational marketing in the Conventions division. He acquired his in-depth specialist knowledge among other things through a Bachelor’s and Master’s programme in England.

Tobias Albert

Tobias Albert

Marketing Manager Strategy and Communications

tobias.albert@hamburg-tourismus.de
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-659

  

Tobias Albert works in the Strategy & Communication department, mainly in the areas of partner management and investment sales. He also plays a fundamental role in the strategic positioning of the HCB within the Hamburg MICE industry. Thanks to his many years of experience and activities in the Hamburg hotel industry, Albert is well networked within the industry and brings his wide-ranging and very good contacts to bear profitably for the location and the Hamburg Convention Bureau.

After several positions for various international hotel chains – including NH Hoteles Deutschland and the Intercontinental Hotels Group – Tobias Albert joined the opening team of Hotel Scandic Hamburg Emporio in 2011. Within just a few years, he was appointed Director of Sales & Marketing and was most recently responsible for all sales strategies and measures, cooperation marketing and the management of all internal and external stakeholder relationships.

Selina Dörffler

Selina Dörffler

Marketing Manager

selina.doerffler@hamburg-tourismus.de
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-657

At the HCB’s Strategy & Communications unit, Selina Dörffler is primarily responsible for designing strategic and operational tasks as well as further developing the HCB partner programme and other cooperation projects. In addition, Selina supervises HCB projects in the area of market research & monitoring.

With regard to the Hamburg Convention Bureau’s online and offline communication, Selina ensures that projects are implemented in a way that fully reflects the Hamburg brand. Following her training as a hotel manager, Selina completed a degree course in tourism management, with a focus on business travel and destination management.

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Head of Corporate Communications

michel.molenda@hamburg-tourismus.de
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Being the HCB’s contact person for media representatives and the head of corporate communications, Michel Molenda is responsible for the strategic development of PR measures and their target group-specific implementation via multiple communication channels. Key areas here include the use of new media and the further development of public relations work. The aim is to raise public awareness for HCB activities and activities within Hamburg’s event industry.

Michel is an alumnus of the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW), where he studied media & information. After his graduation he completed a trainee programme at the HAW’s press department and became deputy press officer. He later moved internally to the Competence Center for Renewable Energies and Energy Efficiency (CC4E) at the HAW, where he was in charge of public relations work in the respective fields. As part of his role, Michel coordinated e.g. the media campaign for the Energy Campus Hamburg technology centre as well as the Energy Week. Michel also gained valuable experience in editorial teams of print and television, as well as press and PR work relating to events.

Photo: www.mediaserver.hamburg.de / Christian O. Bruch

STRATEGIE & KOMMUNIKATION

Unser Kurs liegt auf neuen Zielen

Wir überlassen nichts dem Zufall. Als strategische Steuerzentrale peilen wir langfristige Ziele an und setzen Kurs auf vielversprechende Märkte. Dafür betreiben wir aktiv Forschung, geben Studien in Auftrag und initiieren Umfragen. Der Erfolg unserer Arbeit ist in Zahlen messbar: Etwa ein Fünftel aller Übernachtungen in Hamburg entfallen auf Tagungsbesucher und Geschäftsreisende – Tendenz steigend.

Wir arbeiten bereichsübergreifend und nach allen Seiten transparent. Kommunikation ist ein wesentliches Mittel, um interne Prozesse zu beschleunigen und nach außen erfolgreich darzustellen. Über Newsletter, Pressemitteilungen, Social Media Kanäle und persönliche Kontakte geben wir Einblick in unsere Arbeit und berichten über aktuelle Projekte.

Wir verstehen uns als unabhängiger und neutraler Partner der Veranstaltungsbranche. Hamburger Dienstleister aus allen Bereichen unterstützen unsere Arbeit im Rahmen unseres Partnerprogramms. Seit der Gründung des HCB als Privat Public Partnership ist es gelungen, die Zusammenarbeit zum gegenseitigen Nutzen auszubauen. Dazu gehören gemeinsame Auftritte auf Messen und zahlreiche Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten z.B. an Kunden-Events im In- und Ausland.

Unsere Kompetenzen

Strategische Kompetenz

Wir forcieren eine kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und Einhaltung der Unternehmensstrategie innerhalb des HCB.

Unternehmenskommunikation

Wir sind verantwortlich für die Medienarbeit und die zielgerichtete, einheitliche Kommunikation unseres Unternehmens.

Netzwerk- und Branchenkompetenz

Wir sind etablierter Ansprechpartner für Dienstleister am Standort und treiben mit großer Expertise den Netzwerkaufbau strategisch voran, um die lokale Veranstaltungsbranche zu stärken und deren Bedeutung herauszustellen.

Beteiligungsvertrieb

Wir verantworten den strategischen Vertrieb von Beteiligungen, schaffen neue Kooperationen und pflegen bereits bestehende.

Marke Hamburg

Wir sind verantwortlich für den imagegerechten Auftritt des HCB sowie für das Handeln im Sinne der „Marke Hamburg“.

Marktforschung

Durch umfangreiche Marktforschungsprojekte verfügen wir über detaillierte Kenntnisse zur Struktur im Hamburger MICE-Bereich. Uns liegen zudem belastbare Zahlen hinsichtlich der am Standort fließenden Wertschöpfung vor.

Unsere Services für Sie

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Als erste Anlaufstelle für die Medien helfen wir Ihnen gern bei Interviewanfragen oder liefern Hintergrundinformationen für Ihre Berichterstattung. In unserem Pressebereich finden Sie aktuelle Meldungen zu Veranstaltungen in der Metropolregion sowie über die Arbeit des HCB. Darüber hinaus geben wir einen regelmäßigen Newsletter heraus, in dem wir neue Locations vorstellen und über die Branche vor Ort berichten.

 

Partnerbetreuung

Wir sind erster Ansprechpartner für die Partner des HCB sowie für alle Dienstleister der Branche aus Hamburg und der Region. Wir beraten und betreuen Unternehmen, die sich gemeinsam mit uns für die Stärkung Hamburgs als Premiumstandort für Veranstaltungen einsetzen. Im Sinne bedarfs- und marktgerechter Angebote entwickeln wir unser Partnerprogramm kontinuierlich weiter. Wir finden für Ihren Betrieb die passenden Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten und schaffen auch auf den internationalen Märkten den Rahmen für einen erfolgreichen Auftritt Ihres Unternehmens unter dem Dach der Marke Hamburg.

 

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Kai Dieterich

Kai Dieterich

Head of Department Strategy & Communications

kai.dieterich@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-613

Als Abteilungsleiter ist Kai Dieterich für die Weiterentwicklung der Unternehmensstrategie des Hamburg Convention Bureaus verantwortlich. Dies geschieht in enger Abstimmung mit den zur Holding der Hamburg Marketing GmbH gehörenden Unternehmen auf übergeordneter Ebene. Im Sinne einer erfolgreichen Positionierung Hamburgs als Premiumstandort für Kongresse und Tagungen, koordiniert und optimiert Kai Dieterich die weitere Profilierung des Destinationsmarketings sowie die damit verbundenen betrieblichen Prozesse. Dazu zählt auch die Steuerung der Unternehmenskommunikation nach außen und innen.

Die Abteilung Strategie & Kommunikation ist des Weiteren zuständig für die Betreuung der HCB-Partner sowie für Marktforschung und -beobachtung. Sie unterstützt zudem die Bereiche Conventions und Eventmarketing in einzelnen Gebieten, indem Synergien innerhalb des Unternehmens genutzt werden. Kai Dieterich gehört seit Neugründung des HCB 2009 zur Stamm-Mannschaft des HCB und leitete zuvor das strategische und operative Marketing im Bereich Conventions. Sein fundiertes Fachwissen erwarb er unter anderem durch einen Bachelor- und Masterstudiengang in England.

Selina Dörffler

Selina Dörffler

Marketing Managerin Strategie & Kommunikation

selina.doerffler@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-657

Selina Dörffler ist in der Abteilung Strategie und Kommunikation neben der Betreuung strategischer Aufgaben insbesondere für die fokussierte Weiterentwicklung und Umstrukturierung der Projekte im Bereich Marktforschung & Monitoring des HCB verantwortlich.

Tätig im Bereich Trend- und Businessdevelopment betreut Selina Dörffler beispielsweise Studien, Analysen und Erhebungen, die die Entwicklung des promotablen Geschäftstourismus und die Relevanz dieser Branche für den Standort Hamburg sichtbar machen. Sie steuert zudem die jeweiligen begleitenden Marketingmaßnahmen. Selina Dörffler ist weiterhin in den Bereichen On- und Offlinekommunikation des Hamburg Convention Bureaus tätig und stellt die Umsetzung dieser im Sinne der Marke Hamburg sicher. Nach einer Ausbildung zur Hotelfachfrau absolvierte Sie ein Tourismusmanagement-Studium mit den Schwerpunkten Business-Travel und Destinationsmanagement.

Sabine Frykmer

Sabine Frykmer

Marketing Managerin Strategie & Kommunikation

sabine.frykmer@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-611

   

Sabine Frykmer ist eng in die Schaffung neuer Ideen und Maßnahmen für die Weiterentwicklung des HCBs und die damit verbundene Projektsteuerung eingebunden. Frau Frykmer ist verantwortlich für die strategische und operative Gestaltung und den Fortschritt des HCB-Partnerprogramms und Kooperationen.

Zuvor war die diplomierte Tourismusmanagerin im Bereich Conventions für das Destinationsmarketing mit den Schwerpunkten Messen und Events zuständig. Nicht zuletzt durch ihre Tätigkeiten beim Malmö Convention Bureau und VisitSweden verfügt Sabine Frykmer über weitreichende internationale Branchenerfahrung und -kenntnisse.

Michel Molenda

Michel Molenda

Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation & PR

michel.molenda@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-653
M: +49 (0)173 / 900 65 86

   

Als Ansprechpartner für die Medien und Leiter der Unternehmenskommunikation entwickelt Michel Molenda strategische PR-Maßnahmen und sorgt für deren zielgruppenspezifische Umsetzung über die verschiedenen Kommunikationskanäle. Ein Schwerpunkt ist dabei die Nutzung neuer Medien und der Ausbau der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit für eine breite Wahrnehmung der Aktivitäten der Hamburger Veranstaltungsbranche und des HCBs.

Michel Molenda studierte an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg (HAW Hamburg) “Medien und Information”. Nach seinem Abschluss volontierte er in der Pressestelle der HAW Hambug wurde stellvertretender Pressereferent und wechselte dann intern zum Competence Center für Erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz (CC4E) der Hochschule, wo er für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der mit diesem Bereich verbundenen Themen verantwortlich war. Dazu gehörte unter anderem die Medienkampagne für das Technologiezentrum Energie-Campus Hamburg sowie die Organisation der Woche der Energie. Michel Molenda verfügt über Erfahrungen in Print- und TV-Redaktionen sowie in der veranstaltungsbezogenen Presse- und PR-Arbeit.

Foto: GettyImages