Orchestrated events for the general public

Our team specialises in orchestrated public events with strong imagery and excellent media exposure. We are dedicated to promote Hamburg internationally through unique, spectacular events.

Our focus lies on image-enhancing events that strengthen Hamburg as a brand and reflect Hamburg’s unique brand value. The Hamburg Cruise Days festival may serve as an excellent example for our successful marketing approach. While we tend to operate behind the scenes, it is always our goal to reach the widest possible public. We stage our events not only in Hamburg, but we also develop creative, unique live communication events that are regularly presented in major international cities.

As a central point of contact for all organisations and public institutions involved in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region’s event industry, we provide advice when it comes to planning large-scale events in the public sphere. Frequently asked questions here include: Where exactly are these open-air venues, and who are the persons to contact when seeking official approval? Our event specialists can give advice and refer you to the relevant contact persons.

Our areas of expertise

The Hamburg brand

We know what Hamburg stands for, and we raise Hamburg’s profile through selected events in the public sphere. As pictures from such events are disseminated at a global scale, we increase Hamburg’s popularity and at the same time strengthen the Hamburg brand.

Event expertise & networking

When it comes to open-air venues in Hamburg, we are the experts. We are happy to provide event planners with easy access to the relevant contact persons.

Live communication

We communicate Hamburg’s fortes at a global scale: we visit major international cities with our dedicated live communication events and provide audiences with an unparalleled Hamburg experience. By integrating local partners from Hamburg we communicate a diverse, authentic image of Hamburg.

Location monitoring

To ensure the best possible advice, we continuously monitor large-scale open-air events in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region.

Our services for you

International collaborations

With our live communication events in selected cities across the globe we provide our international network partners with a platform for increasing public awareness of their brand and for marketing their services and products.

Site recommendations

Thanks to our extensive network we can support you in finding suitable event locations in the public sphere. As a non-partisan point of contact we can swiftly refer you to the relevant contact persons.

Collaborations in Hamburg

We can offer you various options for participating in HCB events in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region. As an event partner you can join us at large-scale public events and present your company in close connection with the Hamburg brand.

Support to location providers

We coordinate Hamburg’s Events Committee. Prior to any official approval procedures, the Committee issues recommendations for the utilisation of highly sought premium locations in Hamburg. The Committee’s aim is to identify and allocate suitable venues and time slots in order to avoid an excessive concentration of events.

Contact

Sandra Pfeffer

Sandra Pfeffer

Head of Division Event Marketing

sandra.pfeffer@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-411

Sandra Pfeffer is head of the HCB’s event marketing unit. She is responsible for the strategic management of HCB’s corporate division and focusses on marketing Hamburg nationally and internationally through highly visible large-scale events in the public sphere with a view to value creation. One of the focal areas here lies in creating new event formats and improving existing event formats aimed at raising Hamburg’s international profile even further.

Sandra has many years of experience in the event industry and in media production. As a project coordinator she successfully managed various international sporting events and major projects, and she also worked as a manager for presenters and moderators in the area of on-air and off-air communications.

Melanie Chwialkowsky

Melanie Chwialkowsky

Assistant to Heads of Divison Event Marketing

melanie.chwialkowsky@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-616

Melanie is assistant to the management of both our conventions and event marketing units. She is an experienced office administrator and is responsible for coordinating the internal organisation and implementation of cross-cutting tasks. Melanie ensures smooth administrative operations, optimal schedule and travel planning as well as immaculate preparation and follow-up to meetings. In addition to coordinative tasks and correspondence, Melanie is also in charge of invoicing.

Jana Krüger

Jana Krüger

Marketing Manager Core Events

jana.krueger@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-414

Jana Krüger works in the HCB’s event marketing unit with the aim of promoting Hamburg internationally through events. She is responsible for the implementation of public events with strong imagery and excellent media exposure. This includes in particular the planning and coordination of marketing activities relating to public events as well as marketing the city internationally via such events. Furthermore, Jana supports the event marketing team in developing existing and new event formats. 

Jana studied exhibition, congress and event management and holds the degree of graduate business economist. She spent more than seven years working in the international department of the Hamburg Messe und Congress GmbH, where her responsibilities included e.g. project coordination of the German Pavilion at Expo Zaragoza 2008 and Expo Yeosu 2012 as well as of the Hamburg House at Expo Shanghai 2010.

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Marketing Manager Events

cecilia.vonhardenberg@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-654

With her expertise in the field of large popular events, Cecilia von Hardenberg designs and coordinates marketing activities for large-scale events. Projects here include the Hamburg presentation on the occasion of the Day of German Unity celebrations.

As a marketing manager, Cecilia von Hardenberg optimises and develops promotional and communication measures for highly visible events and coordinates their implementation in collaboration with agencies and service providers. Being a trained event manager, Cecilia consults event organisers and develops new formats that are deemed suitable for strengthening the image of the Hamburg brand.

Prior to her role in HCB, Cecilia spent seven years working for renowned event and communication agencies. She is well-versed in the area of organising public and corporate events in Germany and abroad. Cecilia has worked e.g. as a project manager for the Hamburg Cruise Days, and also for several clients from the automotive industry.

Björn Meyburg

Björn Meyburg

Marketing Manager Events

bjoern.meyburg@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-412

Björn holds a degree in sport and event marketing and is an expert in the field of large-scale events. As a member of our event marketing team, Björn is in charge of coordinating international marketing events as well the successful “Hamburg on Tour“ series of events. Based on this claim, Hamburg hosts creative public events in large European cities on a regular basis. In the context of this project, Björn develops creative ideas, coordinates collaboration between various partners and ensures media visibility to promote Hamburg as a brand.

Our events for Hamburg

Hamburg offers a unique setting for large-scale public events. Thousands of visitors from Germany and abroad travel to Hamburg to experience ship parades, light installations, spectacular fireworks displays, or to listen to the stars of Hamburg’s music festivals. Hamburg is hoisting its flags – not only locally, but also internationally via dedicated guest programmes.

Hamburg Cruise Days

The Hamburg Cruise Days festival has long established itself as a highly popular flagship event on the banks of the River Elbe. The festival was launched and put into full swing by the HCB’s event marketing team. Since 2015, the Hamburg Cruise Days are held in close proximity to Seatrade Europe, the leading European cruise convention, as well as additional industry events. Based on the claim “Hamburg welcomes you on board”, the cruise capital of Hamburg thus presents itself on a biennial basis.

Jana Krüger

Jana Krüger

Marketing Manager Core Events

jana.krueger@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-414

Hamburg on Tour

The HCB’s creative event marketing team develops and implements unique interactive projects and spectacular event formats – an example being the “Hamburg on Tour” programme of events. Based on this claim, the Hanseatic City of Hamburg presents itself in selected cities across the globe. The campaign was launched in Vienna, Austria, with an oversized paper ship that was floated in Vienna’s city centre. The ship served as a projection surface for providing live coverage of the Hamburg Cruise Days Parade, which took place the same day. The event enabled Viennese citizens to experience the spectacular fireworks display and the departure of the majestic cruise liners. The aim of such projects is to create an authentic Hamburg experience, with partner companies from Hamburg also getting the opportunity to come on board. Extensive media and social media coverage of the “Hamburg on Tour” campaign was a positive side effect – and a desired result.

Björn Meyburg

Björn Meyburg

Marketing Manager Events

bjoern.meyburg@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-412

The Day of German Unity festival

Every year on 3 October, the Day of German Unity is celebrated with a large public festival. It has become something of a tradition for Germany’s federal states to present themselves at this event through dedicated activities and booths. As one of the most popular destinations in Germany, Hamburg also makes use of the opportunity to present the Hamburg Metropolitan Region at different locations to a wide audience. Based on the claim “Vibrating Neighbourhoods”, visitors can experience Hamburg’s creative, music, cultural and culinary scenes. Hamburg presents itself as it is – and communicates what it feels like to be living in Hamburg. HCB’s event marketing team is in charge of Hamburg’s presentation at the Day of German Unity festival.

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Marketing Manager Events

cecilia.vonhardenberg@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-654

Highlights on the occasion of special events

Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna

In 2015, the Austrian capital of Vienna was at the centre of attention as host of the Eurovision Song Contest (ESC). On the occasion of the ESC, Hamburg sent a special greeting to Vienna and set up a mobile karaoke station in the form of a shipping container. Between 22 and 25 May, music fans had the opportunity to perform popular ESC tunes or evergreen songs from Hamburg against a Hamburg backdrop. Performances were digitally filmed, and participants had the opportunity to disseminate their performance via social media channels. The most popular performer won a weekend break in Hamburg as well as tickets to the Reeperbahn Festival in September.

Goldene Kamera awards in Hamburg

Hosted by the “HÖRZU” magazine on 27 February 2015, the 50th presentation of the German film and television award Goldene Kamera once again added glamour to Hamburg. On the occasion of this grand gala event, which was held in Hall 1 of the exhibition grounds, Hamburg’s television tower was immersed in golden light to match the trophy. Prior to the event, the HCB’s event marketing team in its role as central point of contact and “door opener” established relevant contacts for the approval procedure and to other stakeholders in the process.

Fotos: Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (2), HÖRZU

Starke Inszenierungen für großes Publikum

Unser Team ist auf medienwirksame Publikumsevents und bildstarke Inszenierungen spezialisiert. Wir arbeiten daran, Hamburg durch großartige und strahlende Veranstaltungen weltweit bekannt zu machen.

Dabei liegt der Fokus auf imagefördernden Events, die Hamburg als Marke stärken und einprägsam widerspiegeln. Bestes Beispiel für unsere Erfolgsstrategie sind die Hamburg Cruise Days. Auch wenn wir meist hinter den Kulissen agieren, ist es unser Ziel, eine möglichst breite Öffentlichkeit zu erreichen. Und das nicht nur in Hamburg, sondern auch mit kreativen und einzigartigen Live-Kommunikationsevents, die wir regelmäßig „on tour“ in internationalen Metropolen organisieren.

Als zentraler Ansprechpartner für alle im Veranstaltungsgeschäft der Metropolregion tätigen Organisationen und öffentlichen Stellen bieten wir Beratung, wenn es um große Events auf den Plätzen der Stadt geht. Hier tauchen meist ein paar grundsätzliche Fragen auf: Wo liegen die Freiflächen? Wer sind die richtigen Ansprechpartner bei städtischen Genehmigungen? Unsere Eventspezialisten unterstützen Sie hier gern beratend und helfen bei der Kontaktaufnahme.

Unsere Kompetenzen

Die Marke Hamburg

Wir wissen, wofür Hamburg steht: Mit ausgewählten Public-Events im öffentlichen Raum stärken wir das Image der Stadt. Die Bilder der Veranstaltung gehen um die Welt und steigern international die Bekanntheit und damit auch die Marke Hamburg.

Veranstaltungs- und Netzwerkkompetenz

Wir kennen uns aus mit Open-Air Eventflächen und sorgen gern dafür, dass Veranstaltungsplaner auf kurzem Weg Kontakt zu den richtigen Ansprechpartnern erhalten.

Live-Kommunikation

Wir zeigen der Welt, was Hamburg ausmacht: Mit eigenen Live-Kommunikations-Events besuchen wir internationale Metropolen und machen unsere Stadt auf besondere Weise erlebbar. Durch die Einbindung Hamburger Partner vermitteln wir ein facettenreiches und authentisches Bild Hamburgs.

Standortbeobachtung

Wir verschaffen uns kontinuierlich einen Überblick über die Open-Air Großveranstaltungen in Hamburg, um eine optimale Beratung sicherzustellen.

Unsere Services für Sie

Beteiligungen im Ausland

Für Sie als ortsansässiger Netzwerkpartner bieten wir mit unseren Live-Kommunikations-Events in den internationalen Metropolen eine Plattform zur Steigerung Ihrer Bekanntheit und Vermarktung Ihres Angebotes.

Flächenempfehlung

Über unsere Netzwerke können wir Sie bei der Suche nach öffentlichen Veranstaltungsflächen unterstützen. Wir vermitteln als neutrale Anlaufstelle auf kurzem Weg Kontakte zu den richtigen Ansprechpartnern.

Engagement bei Events in Hamburg

Wir bieten Ihnen verschiedene Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten bei eigenen Events am Standort. Als Event-Partner haben Sie die Möglichkeit, an öffentlichen Großveranstaltungen zu partizipieren und Ihr Unternehmen so mit der Marke Hamburg in Verbindung zu bringen.

Unterstützung von Flächengebern

Wir koordinieren den Eventausschuss. Dieser gibt noch vor dem amtlichen Genehmigungsverfahren Empfehlungen für die Nutzung besonders begehrter öffentlicher Flächen. Ziel ist es dabei, passende Flächen und Zeiträume herauszuarbeiten, um Ballungen von Veranstaltungen zu vermeiden.

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Sandra Pfeffer

Sandra Pfeffer

Head of Division Event Marketing

sandra.pfeffer@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-411

Sandra Pfeffer ist Leiterin des Bereichs Eventmarketing. Sie verantwortet die strategische Steuerung des HCB-Geschäftsbereichs und arbeitet fokussiert an der gewinnbringenden Vermarktung Hamburgs national und international mittels bildstarker Großveranstaltungen im öffentlichen Raum. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf der Entwicklung neuer und der Weiterentwicklung bestehender Eventformate, die Hamburgs Image weltweit positiv steigern.

Sandra Pfeffer blickt auf langjährige Erfahrung in der Veranstaltungsbranche sowie in der Medienproduktion zurück. So hat sie als Projektleiterin diverse internationale Sportveranstaltungen und Großprojekte begleitet und war als Moderatorenmanagerin im TV- und Off-Air-Bereich tätig.

Melanie Chwialkowsky

Melanie Chwialkowsky

Assistant to Heads of Divison Event Marketing

melanie.chwialkowsky@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-616

Als Assistentin unterstützt Melanie Chwialkowsky die Leitungen der beiden Geschäftsbereiche Conventions und Eventmarketing. Die erfahrene Bürokauffrau managt die interne Organisation und Umsetzung übergeordneter Aufgabenstellungen. Auf administrativer Ebene sorgt sie für reibungslose Abläufe, die richtige Terminlage, die optimale Planung von Reisen und eine perfekte Vor- und Nachbereitung von Sitzungen. Neben Koordination und Korrespondenzen fällt auch die Rechnungsbearbeitung in ihren Bereich.

Jana Krüger

Jana Krüger

Marketing Managerin Core Events

jana.krueger@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-414

Im Bereich Eventmarketing ist Jana Krüger mit dem Ziel, Hamburg durch Events international bekannt zu machen, für die Durchführung von medienwirksamen Publikumsevents und bildstarke Inszenierungen im öffentlichen Raum verantwortlich. Dies umfasst insbesondere die Planung und Koordination von Marketingmaßnahmen rund um Public-Events, um diese so international für das Stadtmarketing zu nutzen. Weiterhin unterstützt Jana Krüger die Entwicklung bestehender und neuer Eventformate.

Die diplomierte Betriebswirtin studierte Messe-, Kongress- und Eventmanagement und arbeitete rund sieben Jahre im Auslandsbereich der Hamburg Messe und Congress GmbH. Dort verantwortete sie u.a. die Projektsteuerung der Deutschen Pavillons auf der Expo Zaragoza 2008 und der Expo Yeosu 2012 sowie des Hamburg Haus auf der Expo Shanghai 2010.

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Marketing Managerin Events

cecilia.vonhardenberg@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-654

Mit ihrer Kompetenz für publikumsstarke Events konzipiert und koordiniert Cecilia von Hardenberg Marketingaktivitäten für Großveranstaltungen. Zu ihren Projekten gehört unter anderem die Hamburg-Präsentation anlässlich der Feierlichkeiten zum Tag der Deutschen Einheit.

Als Marketing Managerin berät die gelernte Veranstaltungskauffrau darüber hinaus Veranstalter von Open-Air Großveranstaltungen und koordiniert in enger Abstimmung mit den Hamburger Institutionen den Eventausschuss.

Vor ihrer Tätigkeit im HCB war Cecilia von Hardenberg sieben Jahre bei namhaften Event- und Kommunikationsagenturen beschäftigt. Sie besitzt weitreichende Erfahrungen in der Organisation von Public- und Corporate Events im In- und Ausland. Unter anderem war sie Projektmanagerin im Rahmen der Hamburg Cruise Days und für verschiedene Kunden der Automobilbranche tätig.

Björn Meyburg

Björn Meyburg

Marketing Manager Events

bjoern.meyburg@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-412

Mit Großveranstaltungen ist Björn Meyburg bestens vertraut. Im Bereich Eventmarketing zieht der studierte Sport- und Eventmanager die organisatorischen Fäden für internationale Marketingevents sowie für die erfolgreiche Veranstaltungsreihe „Hamburg on Tour“. Unter diesem Motto gastiert die Hansestadt regelmäßig in europäischen Metropolen mit kreativen Publikumsevents. Hierfür entwickelt Björn Meyburg ideenreiche Konzepte, koordiniert die Zusammenarbeit der verschiedenen Partner und sorgt für die medienwirksame Umsetzung im Sinne der Marke Hamburg.

Unsere Events für Hamburg

Hamburg bietet eine einzigartige Kulisse für Events mit großem Publikum. Tausende Besucher aus dem In- und Ausland strömen in die Stadt, um Schiffsparaden, Lichtinszenierungen, sprühendes Feuerwerk oder die Stars auf den Musikfestivals live zu erleben. Auch in anderen Metropolen zeigt die Hansestadt mit ideenreichen Gastspielen Flagge.

Hamburg Cruise Days

Die Hamburg Cruise Days haben sich längst als publikumsstarkes Flaggschiff an der Elbe etabliert. Aus der Taufe gehoben und richtig in Fahrt gebracht, wurde die Veranstaltung durch das Eventmarketing. Seit 2015 sind die Hamburg Cruise Days mit der europäischen Kreuzfahrtmesse „Seatrade“ sowie weiteren Branchenveranstaltungen zeitlich eng zusammengerückt. Unter dem Slogan „Hamburg welcomes you on board“ präsentiert sich die Hansestadt damit im Rhythmus von zwei Jahren Tausenden Besuchern und Experten als Kreuzfahrtmetropole.

Jana Krüger

Jana Krüger

Marketing Managerin Core Events

jana.krueger@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-414

Hamburg on Tour

Mit Gespür und Kreativität organisiert das Eventmarketing des Hamburg Convention Bureaus ungewöhnliche Interaktionen und aufsehenerregende Inszenierungen. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Veranstaltungsreihe „Hamburg on Tour“. Unter diesem Motto geht die Hansestadt jedes Jahr werbewirksam in ausgewählten Metropolen vor Anker. Zur Premiere wurde in der Wiener Innenstadt ein überdimensionales Papierschiff platziert, welches zugleich als Projektionsfläche für die Übertragung der zeitgleich stattfindenden Hamburg Cruise Days Parade diente. Auf diese Weise konnten die Wiener das farbensprühende Feuerwerk und das Auslaufen der Kreuzfahrtschiffe direkt mitverfolgen, fast so als wären sie live dabei. Mit diesen Aktionen, an denen sich auch Partner und Unternehmen aus der Hansestadt beteiligen, soll den Zuschauern ein authentisches Hamburg-Erlebnis vermittelt werden. Positiver – und durchaus beabsichtigter – Nebeneffekt der „Hamburg on Tour“-Events ist ein breites Echo in den Medien und den Social Media Kanälen.

Björn Meyburg

Björn Meyburg

Marketing Manager Events

bjoern.meyburg@hamburg-convention.com
T +49 (0)40 / 30051-412

Fest zum Tag der Deutschen Einheit

Jedes Jahr wird der Tag der Deutschen Einheit am 3. Oktober mit einem großen Bürgerfest gefeiert. Es ist schon zur guten Tradition geworden, dass sich auf dieser Veranstaltung die einzelnen Bundesländer mit Aktionen und Ständen vorstellen. Als eines der begehrtesten deutschen Reiseziele nutzt auch Hamburg die Chance, die Region einem breiten Publikum an wechselnden Standorten näher zu bringen. Unter dem Leitthema „Pulsierende Szenen“ wird die Stadt kreativ, musikalisch, kulturell und kulinarisch erlebbar. Hamburg präsentiert sich wie es ist, aber vor allem wie man sich in Hamburg fühlt. Verantwortlich für die Hamburg-Präsentation ist das HCB-Eventmarketing.

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Cecilia von Hardenberg

Marketing Managerin Events

cecilia.vonhardenberg@hamburg-convention.com
Tel +49 (0)40 / 30051-654

Highlights zu besonderen Anlässen

Eurovision Song Contest in Wien

Als Gastgeber des Eurovision Song Contests stand 2015 die österreichische Hauptstadt im Mittelpunkt. Aus diesem Anlass schickte Hamburg vom 22. bis 25. Mai einen besonderen Gruß nach Wien: Einen Schiffscontainer als mobile Karaoke-Station. Musik-Enthusiasten performten vor Hamburg Kulisse beliebte ESC-Songs oder norddeutsche Evergreens. Die Auftritte wurden im Video festgehalten und konnten über Social Media Kanäle verschickt werden. Als Preis lockte ein Hamburg-Wochenende und Tickets für das Reeperbahn Festival im September.

Goldene Kamera in Hamburg

Die 50. Verleihung der Goldenen Kamera der Fernsehzeitschrift „HÖRZU“ brachte am 27. Februar 2015 wieder einmal Glamour nach Hamburg. Anlässlich der großen Gala in der Halle 1 der Hamburg Messe strahlte der Fernsehturm passend zur Trophäe im goldenen Licht.

Als Ansprechpartner und „Türöffner“ stellte das Eventmarketing im Vorfeld die nötigen Kontakte im Genehmigungsprozess und zu weiteren Kooperationspartnern her.

Fotos: Hamburg Convention Bureau GmbH (2), HÖRZU